Über-editor John Joseph Adams has created a website for his upcoming post-apocalyptic science fiction anthology, Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse.

Besides profiling the authors who contributed to the anthology, the website also includes story excerpts. And check out this lineup:

  1. “The End of the Whole Mess” by Stephen King
  2. “Salvage” by Orson Scott Card
  3. “The People of Sand and Slag” by Paolo Bacigalupi
  4. “Bread and Bombs” by M. Rickert
  5. “How We Got In Town and Out Again” by Jonathan Lethem
  6. “Dark, Dark Were the Tunnels” by George R. R. Martin
  7. “Waiting for the Zephyr” by Tobias S. Buckell
  8. “Never Despair” by Jack McDevitt
  9. “When Sysadmins Ruled the Earth” by Cory Doctorow
  10. “The Last of the O-Forms” by James Van Pelt
  11. “Still Life With Apocalypse” by Richard Kadrey
  12. “Artie’s Angels” by Catherine Wells
  13. “Judgment Passed” by Jerry Oltion
  14. “Mute” by Gene Wolfe
  15. “Inertia” by Nancy Kress
  16. “And the Deep Blue Sea” by Elizabeth Bear
  17. “Speech Sounds” by Octavia E. Butler
  18. “Killers” by Carol Emshwiller
  19. “Ginny Sweethips’ Flying Circus” by Neal Barrett, Jr.
  20. “The End of the World as We Know It” by Dale Bailey
  21. “A Song Before Sunset” by David Grigg
  22. “Episode Seven: Last Stand Against the Pack in the Kingdom of the Purple Flowers” by John Langan

The book also has an Introduction and an Appendix for further reading.

Filed under: BooksWeb Sites

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!