Wizards of the Coast to Launch New Line of Novels in 2008

Wizards of the Coast will launch a new line of adult speculative fiction books in January 2008 under the imprint Wizards of the Coast Discoveries. The original titles under the new imprint will offer a variety of themes and genres that are not part of the shared worlds of WotC’s current books.

Inaugural titles include:

  • Firefly Rain by Richard Dansky – a Southern gothic ghost story about “one man’s struggle to honor the past without being destroyed by it, and finding the courage to face the future.”
  • Last Dragon by J.M. Mcdermott – A literary fantasy “in the tradition of Gene Wolfe and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.”
  • The Man on the Ceiling by Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem (cover art not yet available) – A horror story based on the novella that won the Bram Stoker Award, the International Horror Guild Award, and the World Fantasy Award – the only work ever to win all three.
  • Devil’s Cape by Rob Rogers – A gritty, noir-ish story of believable superheroes.

3 thoughts on “Wizards of the Coast to Launch New Line of Novels in 2008”

  1. Hopefully they will discover some great unknown writer. Hell White Wolf published William Browning Spencer, and I think his novel Zod Wallop is one of the best fantasy stories I have ever read.

  2. Hmmmm…funny that you mention that book.

    I saw Zod Wallop on the shield at a used bookstore and didn’t pick it up because (A) It was fantasy and (2) it was from an author I had never heard of. Then, some time later, I read Spencer’s awesome story “Downloading Midnight“. I went back but the book was gone. :(

    It’s good to have another endorsement for it, though. The title is now solidified in my biblioholic mind and will be something I definitely pick up when next our paths cross.

  3. One of these days we’re going to have to expand on that whole because “it was fantasy” trope. I think our recent conversation shows that there’s a whole lotta talking that could be had on that topic!

    :-S

Comments are closed.