News Ticker

NOMINEES: Sidewise Awards for Alternate History

The nominees for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History have been announced:

Best Short Form:

  • Elizabeth Bear, “Les Innocents/Lumiere” (in New Amsterdam, Subterranean Press)
  • Michael Flynn, “Quaestiones Super Caelo Et Mundo” (in Analog, 7/07)
  • Matthew Johnson, “Public Safety” (in Asimov’s, 3/07)
  • Jess Nevins, “An Alternate History of Chinese Science Fiction” (in No Fear of the Future, May 17, 2007)
  • Chris Roberson, “Metal Dragon Year” (in Interzone, 12/07)
  • Kristine Kathryn Rusch, “Recovering Apollo 8” (in Asimov’s, 2/07)
  • John Scalzi, “Missives from Possible Futures #1: Alternate History Search Results” (in Subterranean Magazine, Winter 2007)

Best Long Form:

  • Michael Chabon, The Yiddish Policemen’s Union (HarperCollins)
  • Robert Conroy, 1945: A Novel (Ballantine Books)
  • Mary Gentle, Ilario (The Lion’s Eye and The Stone Golem) (Eos)
  • Jay Lake, Mainspring (Tor Books)
  • Sophia McDougall, Rome Burning (Orion)
  • Jo Walton, Ha’penny (Tor Books)

See also: Past winners.

About John DeNardo (13013 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: