The finalists for The 2009 Theodore Sturgeon Award (the short fiction counterpart of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best novel of the year) have been announced:

  • Paolo Bacigalupi, “The Gambler” Fast Forward 2
  • Ted Chiang, “Exhalation” Eclipse 2
  • Charles Coleman Finlay, “The Political Prisoner” F&SF, August
  • Cory Doctorow & Benjamin Rosenbaum, “True Names” Fast Forward 2
  • James Alan Gardner, “The Ray Gun: A Love Story” Asimov’s, February
  • Kathleen Ann Goonan, “Memory Dog” Asimov’s, Apr/May
  • Kij Johnson, “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss” (NOTE: Johnson, a juror, removed story from consideration. Asimov’s, July)
  • Ian McDonald, “The Tear” Galactic Empires
  • Maureen McHugh, “Special Economics” Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy
  • Hanu Rajaniemi, “His Master’s Voice” Interzone 218
  • Michael Swanwick, “From Babel’s Fall’n Glory We Fled” Asimov’s, February

Congratulations to all the nominees.

See also: Past winners.

[via Ellen Datlow]

Filed under: Awards

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!