Here is the table of contents for the upcoming Tachyon Publications anthology The Secret History of Science Fiction edited by James Patrick Kelly and John Kessel, which reprints stories published from 1971-2007 making the case for the convergence of mainstream fiction and literary sf:

  1. “Angouleme” by Thomas M. Disch
  2. “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas” by Ursula K. Le Guin
  3. “Ladies and gentlemen, This is Your Crisis: by Kate Wilhelm
  4. “Descent of Man” by T.C. Boyle
  5. “Human Moments in World War III” by Don DeLillo
  6. “Homelanding” by Margaret Atwood
  7. “The Nine Billion Names of God” by Carter Scholz
  8. “Interlocking Pieces” by Molly Gloss
  9. “Salvador” by Lucius Shepard
  10. “Schwarzschild Radius” by Connie Willis
  11. “Buddha Nostril Bird” by John Kessel
  12. “The Ziggurat” by Gene Wolfe
  13. “The Hardened Criminals” by Jonathan Lethem
  14. “Standing Room Only” by Karen Joy Fowler
  15. “1016 to 1″ by James Patrick Kelly
  16. “93990” by George Saunders
  17. “The Martian Agent, A planetary Romance” by Michael Chabon
  18. “Frankenstein’s Daughter” by Maureen F. McHugh
  19. “The Wizard of West Orange” by Steven Millhauser

Tagged with:

Filed under: Books

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!