The Horror Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2011 Bram Stoker Award and Vampire Novel of the Century Award:

  • Superior Achievement in a NOVEL: Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney (Pinnacle Books)
  • Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL: Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird (Dark Regions Press)
  • Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL (tie):
    • The Screaming Season by Nancy Holder (Razorbill)
    • Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
  • Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL: Neonomicon by Alan Moore (Avatar Press)
  • Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION: “The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine” by Peter Straub (Conjunctions: 56)
  • Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION: “Herman Wouk Is Still Alive?” by Stephen King (The Atlantic Magazine, May 2011)
  • Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY: American Horror Story, episode #12: ?Afterbirth? by Jessica Sharzer (20th Century Fox Television)
  • Superior Achievement in a FICTION COLLECTION: The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares by Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
  • Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and his Minions, Fallen Angels and the Possessed edited by John Skipp (Black Dog and Leventhal)
  • Superior Achievement in NON-FICTION: Stephen King: A Literary Companion by Rocky Wood (McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers)
  • Superior Achievement in a POETRY COLLECTION: How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend by Linda Addison (Necon Ebooks)

Also: HWA, in conjunction with the Bram Stoker Family Estate and the Rosenbach Museum & Library, also presented the special one-time only Vampire Novel of the Century Award to Richard Matheson for his modern classic I Am Legend.

Congratulations to all the winners!

See also: This years nominees and Past winners.

Tagged with:

Filed under: Awards

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!