Cover & Synopsis: “Afterparty” by Daryl Gregory

Rising Shadow has posted the cover art and synopsis of the upcoming novel Afterparty by Daryl Gregory.

Here’s the synopsis:

Powerful, violent science fiction in the tradition of William Gibson and Peter Watts

It begins in Toronto, in the years after the smart drug revolution. Any high school student with a chemjet and internet connection can download recipes and print drugs, or invent them. A seventeen-year-old street girl finds God through a new brain-altering drug called Numinous, used as a sacrament by a new Church that preys on the underclass. But she is arrested and put into detention, and without the drug, commits suicide.

Lyda Rose, another patient in that detention facility, has a dark secret: she was one of the original scientists who developed the drug. With the help of an ex-government agent and an imaginary, drug-induced doctor, Lyda sets out to find the other three survivors of the five who made the Numinous in a quest to set things right.

A mind-bending and violent chase across Canada and the US, Afterparty is a marvelous mix of William Gibson’s Neuromancer, Philip K. Dick’s Ubik, and perhaps a bit of Peter Watts’s Starfish: a last chance to save civilization, or die trying.

Book info as per Amazon US [Also available via Amazon UK]:

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; First Edition edition (April 22, 2014)
  • ISBN-10: 0765336928
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765336927

One thought on “Cover & Synopsis: “Afterparty” by Daryl Gregory”

Comments are closed.