News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2014 World Fantasy Awards

The finalists for the World Fantasy Awards have been announced!

  • Dust Devil on a Quiet Street by Richard Bowes (Lethe)
  • A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent by Marie Brennan (Tor)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Headline Review)
  • A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)
  • The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (Harper)
  • The Land Across by Gene Wolfe (Tor)

Long Fiction
  • “Wakulla Springs” by Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages ( 10/2/13)
  • Black Helicopters by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
  • “The Sun and I” by K.J. Parker (Subterranean Summer ’13)
  • “Burning Girls” by Veronica Schanoes ( 6/19/13)
  • Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean)
Short Fiction
  • “The Ink Readers of Doi Saket” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt ( 4/24/13)
  • “The Prayer of Ninety Cats” by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Spring ’13)
  • “Effigy Nights” by Yoon Ha Lee (Clarkesworld 1/13)
  • “Selkie Stories Are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons 1/7/13)
  • “If You Were a Dinosaur by My Love” by Rachel Swirsky (Apex 3/13)
  • xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths edited by Kate Bernheimer (Penguin)
  • Queen Victoria’s Book of Spellsedited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Tor)
  • Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013 edited by Stephen Jones (Smith & Jones/PS Publishing)
  • Dangerous Women edited by George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois (Tor; Voyager)
  • The End of the Road edited by Jonathan Oliver (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
  • Fearsome Journeys: The New Solaris Book of Fantasy edited by Jonathan Strahan (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
  • North American Lake Monsters by Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories by Laird Barron (Night Shade)
  • The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
  • Flowers of the Sea by Reggie Oliver (Tartarus Press)
  • How the World Became Quiet by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean)
  • Galen Dara
  • Zelda Devon
  • Julie Dillon
  • John Picacio
  • Charles Vess
Special Award – Professional
  • John Joseph Adams, for magazine and anthology editing
  • Ginjer Buchanan, for editing at Ace Books
  • Irene Gallo, for art direction of
  • William K. Schafer, for Subterranean Press
  • Jeff VanderMeer & Jeremy Zerfoss, for Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction (Abrams Image)
Special Award – Nonprofessional
  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Marc Aplin, Jennie Ivins & Paul Wiseall, for Fantasy-Faction
  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Leslie Howle, for Clarion West administration
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press

Additionally, The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, will go to Ellen Datlow and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, and were announced earlier this month.

Congrats to all the all!

The awards will be presented during the World Fantasy Convention, November 6-9, 2014 in Washington DC.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

2 Comments on FINALISTS: 2014 World Fantasy Awards

  1. Looking forward to seeing who wins. I’ve only read two in the novel category.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: