News Ticker

Table of Contents: THE CHANGE: TALES OF DOWNFALL AND REBIRTH Edited by S.M. Stirling

There’s a new collection on the horizon. The Change: Tales of Downfall and Rebirth is a set of stories set in the world of S.M. Stirling’s Emberverse/Change series, a post-apocalyptic alternate history after some mysterious event has caused electricity, guns, explosives, internal combustion engines, and steam power to stop working.

This book series has been on my to-read list for a long, long time. I read a short story set in this world and it was quite intriguing…and way better than the NBC show Revolution which appeared after this book series strated and had a similar premise.

The book description for The Change: Tales of Downfall and Rebirth is up on Amazon and it contains the table of contents.

But first, here’s the book description:

ALL-NEW STORIES OF THE EMBERVERSE by S.M. Stirling, Harry Turtledove, Walter Jon Williams, John Birmingham, John Barnes, Jane Lindskold, and more…

“[A] vivid portrait of a world gone insane,”* S. M. Stirling’s New York Times bestselling Novels of the Change have depicted a vivid, utterly persuasive, and absorbingly unpredictable postapocalyptic wasteland in which all modern technology has been left in ashes, forcing humankind to rebuild an unknowable new world in the wake of unimaginable—and deliberate—chaos.

Now, in this startling new anthology, S. M. Stirling invites the most fertile minds in science fiction to join him in expanding his rich Emberverse canvas. Here are inventive new perspectives on the cultures, the survivors, and the battles arising across the years and across the globe following the Change.

In his all-new story “Hot Night at the Hopping Toad,” Stirling returns to his own continuing saga of the High Kingdom of Montival. In the accompanying stories are fortune seekers, voyagers, and dangers—from the ruins of Sydney to the Republic of Fargo and Northern Alberta to Venetian and Greek galleys clashing in the Mediterranean.

These new adventures revisit beloved people and places from Stirling’s fantastic universe, introduce us to new ones, and deliver endlessly fascinating challenges to conquer, all while unfolding in a “postapocalyptic landscape that illuminates both the best and the worst of which our species is capable,”** “a world you can see, feel, and touch.” ***

* Statesman Journal (Salem, OR)
** Science Fiction Weekly
*** Otherwhere Gazette

Here’s the table of contents…

  1. “Hot Night at the Hopping Toad”” by S. M. Stirling
  2. “Rate of Exchange” by A. M. Dellamonica
  3. “Tight Spot” by Kier Salmon
  4. “Against the Wind” by Lauren C. Teffeau
  5. “The Demons of Witmer Hall” by M. T. Reiten
  6. “Bernie, Lord of the Apes” by John Jos. Miller
  7. “The Seeker: A Poison in the Blood” by Victor Milán
  8. “Grandpa’s Gift” by Terry D. England
  9. “Fortune and Glory” by John Birmingham
  10. “The Venetian Dialectic” by Walter Jon Williams
  11. “The Soul Remembers Uncouth Noises” by John Barnes
  12. “Topanga and the Chatsworth Lancers” by Harry Turtledove
  13. “The Hermit and the Jackalopes” by Jane Lindskold
  14. “The New Normal” by Jody Lynn Nye
  15. “A Missed Connection” by Emily Mah Tippetts
  16. “Deor” by Diana Paxson

Book info as per Amazon US:

  • Series: Change Series
  • Hardcover: 640 pages
  • Publisher: Roc (June 2, 2015)
  • ISBN-10: 0451467566
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451467560


About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: