Tag Archives: James Tiptree Jr. Award

WINNER: 2013 James Tiptree Jr. Award

The winner of the 2013 James Tiptree Jr. Award, presented annually to a work or works of science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands gender roles, has been announced!

Congratulations to N.A. Sulway, who won for her novel Rupetta (Tartarus Press 2013).

Press release follows…

Continue reading

WINNERS: 2012 James Tiptree Jr. Award (Plus: Honor List)

The winners of the 2012 James Tiptree Jr. Award, an annual literary prize for science fiction or fantasy that expands or explores our understanding of gender, have been announced!

The jury also chose the Tiptree Award Honor List:
Continue reading

WINNERS: 2009 James Tiptree, Jr. Award

The winners of this year’s James Tiptree, Jr. Award have been announced:

  • Greer Gilman for Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales [2009, Small Beer Press]
  • Fumi Yoshinaga for Ooku: The Inner Chambers, (volumes 1 & 2) [2009, VIZ Media]

The James Tiptree, Jr. Award is an annual literary prize intended to “reward those women and men who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society.” The award is named after Alice B. Sheldon, who wrote under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr. for many years before revealing her identity and real name.

For more information see The James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council website.

Congratulations to the winners!

See also: Past winners.