News Ticker

SF Tidbits for 10/19/08

Geek gadgets that sound dirty but aren’t: Star Trek Nutcrackers. Jason Sanford asks: Did some independent bookstores deserve to die? At Torque Control, Niall Harrison [...]

October 19, 2008 // 0 Comments

SF Tidbits for 10/18/08

John Picacio shares the awesome triptych he did for Jeffrey Ford’s Well Built City trilogy. I saw the original shadowbox piece and it was endlessly fascinating. [...]

October 18, 2008 // 5 Comments

SF Tidbits for 10/17/08

Editor Jonathan Strahan shows off the super-awesome Donato Giancola cover art for Eclipse Two. RIP: Sad news…British author Barrington John Bayley has passed away. [...]

October 17, 2008 // 0 Comments

Tube Bits for 10/17/2008

Good news for fans of Psych and Burn Notice, two non-genre shows you should watch: They’ve both been renewed for additional seasons! Good on you USA Network. [...]

October 17, 2008 // 3 Comments

New Star Trek XI Stills Released

J.J. Abrams’ version of Star Trek is currently on track for a May 8th, 2009 release date. So far we’ve had a teaser trailer and a few underwhelming movie posters [...]

October 16, 2008 // 12 Comments

SF Tidbits for 10/16/08

Interviews & Profiles: @SciFi Wire: Margo Lanagan (Tender Morsels) and T.A. Pratt (Dead Reign). (Also: John Scalzi (Agent to the Stars) posts the full text of his recent [...]

October 16, 2008 // 0 Comments

SF Tidbits for 10/15/08

Interviews and Profiles: @Omnivoracious: Part 1 of a 3-part interview with Jeffrey Ford (Well-Built City Trilogy). @Ingram Library: Alethea Kontis sits down with dynamic [...]

October 15, 2008 // 2 Comments

Tube Bits for 10/15/2008

This has got to be the single coolest PC case mod I have ever seen. Bit-Tech brings us the Battlestar Galactica PC case. Check this bad boy out. It has the Viper landing bay [...]

October 15, 2008 // 3 Comments

Tuesday YouTube: Star Trek and Jim Carrey

Witness: Spock in heat battling Kirk. Compare and Contrast: This spoof of Jim Carrey fighting Matthew Broderick at Medieval Times in The Cable Guy. [via MilkandCookies] No [...]

October 14, 2008 // 0 Comments

REVIEW: Beyond Apollo by Barry Malzberg

REVIEW SUMMARY: This is a puzzling book with a puzzling plot. MY RATING: BRIEF SYNOPSIS: Astronaut Harry Evans returns from a disastrous Venus Mission and schizophrenically [...]

October 14, 2008 // 0 Comments

Books Received: October 14, 2008

Here are the books we received this past week. Fun games you can play: Critique the book covers! Tell us which books look interesting to you! Tell us about past reading [...]

October 14, 2008 // 3 Comments

SF Tidbits for 10/14/08

Free Fiction [courtesy of QuasarDragon]: Audio Fiction: @The Classic Tales Podcast: Part One of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson (part 1). @PodCastle: [...]

October 14, 2008 // 0 Comments

Non-Genre TV You Should Be Watching

Last week I mentioned my TV watching time is limited, and detailed which SF TV shows had been chopped off my list, and which were on the chopping block. That’s not to [...]

October 13, 2008 // 9 Comments

SF Tidbits for 10/13/08

Ridley Scott may direct an adaptation of Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War. I find this interesting as Scott has said that sci-fi is dead. Twice. Everything has already [...]

October 13, 2008 // 1 Comment

1 684 685 686 687 688 984