News Ticker

2005 Campbell/Sturgeon Award Finalists

Finalists for the 2005 John W. Campbell Memorial Award, honoring the best science fiction novel of the year published in the U.S., are:

  • Transcendent by Stephen Baxter
  • The Meq by Steve Cash
  • Child Of Earth by David Gerrold [SF Signal review]
  • Mind’s Eye by Paul McAuley
  • Seeker by Jack McDevitt
  • Learning The World by Ken Macleod [SF Signal review]
  • The Summer Isles by Ian R. Macleod
  • Counting Heads by David Marusek [SF Signal review]
  • Mindscan by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Accelerando by Charles Stross
  • The World Before by Karen Traviss
  • Spin by Robert Charles Wilson [SF Signal review]

Finalists for the 2005 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, honoring the best short fiction story of the year published in the U.S., are:

  • “The Calorie Man” by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • “Second Person, Present Tense” by Darryl Gregory
  • “Magic for Beginners” by Kelly Link
  • “Keyboard Practice” by John G. McDaid
  • “The Little Goddess ” by Ian McDonald
  • “Little Faces” by Vonda McIntyre
  • “The Blemmye’s Stratagem” by Bruce Sterling
  • “Panacea” by Jason Stoddard
  • “The Inn at Mount Either” by James Van Pelt
  • “Inside Job” by Connie Willis

Winners for both awards will be announced at the annual Campbell Conference and Awards Banquet, July 6-9, 2006.

[via Locus Online]

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

1 Comment on 2005 Campbell/Sturgeon Award Finalists

  1. Ack, must catch up on my reading.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: