News Ticker

2008 Locus Award Finalists

The 2008 Locus Award Finalists has been announced:


  • The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman (Ace)
  • Brasyl by Ian McDonald (Pyr) [See SF Signal review]
  • Halting State by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK) [See SF Signal review]
  • Spook Country by William Gibson (Putnam; Viking UK)
  • The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins)


  • Endless Things by John Crowley (Small Beer Press; Overlook)
  • Making Money by Terry Pratchett (Doubleday UK; HarperCollins)
  • Pirate Freedom by Gene Wolfe (Tor) [See SF Signal review]
  • Territory by Emma Bull (Tor)
  • Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; Roc)


  • Extras by Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse; Simon & Schuster UK)
  • The H-Bomb Girl by Stephen Baxter (Faber & Faber)
  • Magic’s Child by Justine Larbalestier (Razorbill)
  • Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt; Gollancz)
  • Un Lun Dun by China Miéville (Ballantine Del Rey; Macmillan UK)


  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (Simon & Schuster/McElderry)
  • Flora Segunda by Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt)
  • Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill (Morrow; Gollancz)
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (DAW; Gollancz)
  • One for Sorrow by Christopher Barzak (Bantam Spectra)


  • The Best of Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet edited by Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant (Ballantine Del Rey)
  • The Coyote Road edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling. (Viking)
  • The New Space Opera edited by Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan(Eos)
  • The Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror 2007: Twentieth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant(St. Martin’s)
  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Fourth Annual Collection edited by Gardner Dozois (St. Martin’s) [See SF Signal review]

Locus Online has the full list of nominees.

See also: Past winners.

About John DeNardo (13013 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: