News Ticker

WINNERS: 2009 Aurealis Awards

The winners of the 2009 Aurealis Awards, honouring works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror published in 2008, have been announced:

  • Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award for Excellence: Jack Dann
  • Best Science Fiction Novel: K A Bedford, Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: Simon Brown, “The Empire”
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Alison Goodman, The Two Pearls of Wisdom
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: Cat Sparks, “Sammarynda Deep”
  • Best Horror Novel: John Harwood, The Seance
  • Best Horror Short Story: Kirstyn McDermott, “Painlessness”
  • Anthology: Jonathan Strahan (ed.), The Starry Rift
  • Collection: Sean Williams and Russell B. Farr (ed.), Magic Dirt
  • Young Adult Novel: Melina Marchetta, Finnikin of the Rock
  • Young Adult Short Story: Trent Jamieson, “Cracks”
  • Illustrated Book: Shaun Tan, Tales from Outer Suburbia
  • Children’s Novel: Emily Rodda, The Wizard of Rondo
  • Children’s Fiction Illustrated Work/Picture Book: Richard Harland & Laura Peterson, The Wolf Kingdom Series
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: