News Ticker

NOMINEES: 2008 Shirley Jackson Awards

The nominees for the Shirley Jackson Awards have been announced:

  • Alive in Necropolis, Doug Dorst (Riverhead Hardcover)
  • The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem (Wizards of the Coast Discoveries)
  • Pandemonium, Daryl Gregory (Del Rey) [See SF Signal review]
  • The Resurrectionist, Jack O’Connell (Algonquin Books)
  • The Shadow Year, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)
  • Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

  • Disquiet, Julia Leigh (Penguin/Hamish Hamilton)
  • “Dormitory,” Yoko Ogawa (The Diving Pool, Picador)
  • Living With the Dead, Darrell Schweitzer (PS Publishing)
  • The Long Trial of Nolan Dugatti, Stephen Graham Jones (Chiasmus Press)
  • “N,”, Stephen King (Just After Sunset, Scribner)
  • “Hunger Moon,” Deborah Noyes (The Ghosts of Kerfol, Candlewick Press)
  • “The Lagerstatte,” Laird Barron (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Ballantine Books/Del Rey)
  • “Penguins of the Apocalypse,” William Browning Spencer (Subterranean: Tales of Dark Fantasy, Subterranean Press)
  • “Pride and Prometheus,” John Kessel (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, January 2008)
  • The Situation, Jeff Vandermeer (PS Publishing)
  • “68° 07′ 15″N, 31° 36′ 44″W,” Conrad Williams (Fast Ships, Black Sails, Night Shade Books)
  • “The Dinner Party,” Joshua Ferris (The New Yorker, August 11, 2008)
  • “Evidence of Love in a Case of Abandonment: One Daughter’s Personal Account,” M. Rickert (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Oct/Nov 2008)
  • “The Inner City,” Karen Heuler (Cemetery Dance #58, 2008)
  • “Intertropical Convergence Zone,” Nadia Bulkin (ChiZine, Issue 37, 2008)
  • “The Pile,” Michael Bishop (Subterranean Online, Winter 2008)
  • A Better Angel, Chris Adrian (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • Dangerous Laughter, Steven Millhauser (Knopf)
  • The Diving Pool, Yoko Ogawa (Picador)
  • The Girl on the Fridge, Etgar Keret (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • Just After Sunset, Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Wild Nights!, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)
  • Bound for Evil, edited by Tom English (Dead Letter Press)
  • Exotic Gothic 2: New Tales of Taboo, edited by Danel Olson (Ash-Tree Press)
  • Fast Ships, Black Sails, edited by Ann and Jeff Vandermeer (Night Shade Books)
  • The New Uncanny, edited by Sarah Eyre and Ra Page (Comma Press)
  • Shades of Darkness, edited by Barbara and Christopher Roden (Ash-Tree Press)

Congratulations to all the nominees.

See also: Past winners.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: