News Ticker

WINNERS: 2008 Nebula Awards

The winners for this year’s Nebula Awards have been announced:

  • NOVEL: Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • NOVELLA: “The Spacetime Pool” by Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar08)
  • NOVELETTE: “Pride and Prometheus” by John Kessel (F&SF, Jan08, alternate link)
  • SHORT STORY: “Trophy Wives” by Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, DAW Books Jan08)
  • SCRIPT: WALL-E Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

The recipient of the Andre Norton Award, recognizing superior achievement in science fiction and fantasy writing for young adults is: Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) by Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, Sep08)

Other awards given out this weekend [via Science Fiction Awards Watch]

  • Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award: Harry Harrison
  • SFWA Author Emerita: MJ Engh
  • Bradbury Award: Joss Whedon
  • SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss
  • Solstice Award: Kate Wilhelm, Martin H Greenberg, AJ Budrys

Congratulations to all the winners!

See also:

This year’s nominees.

Past Nebula winners.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: