News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2009 British Fantasy Awards

The British Fantasy Society (BFS) has announced the nominees for their 2009 British Fantasy Awards. They are:

BEST NOVEL (The August Derleth Fantasy Award)
  • Thieving Fear by Ramsey Campbell (published by PS Publishing)
  • Midnight Man by Simon Clark (Severn House)
  • The Victoria Vanishes by Christopher Fowler (Little Brown)
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (Bloomsbury)
  • Memoirs of a Master Forger by William Heaney and Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
  • Rain Dogs by Gary McMahon (Humdrumming)

  • “The Narrows” by Simon Bestwick (published in We Fade to Grey, Pendragon Press)
  • Cold Stone Calling by Simon Clark (Tasmaniac Publications)
  • Gunpowder by Joe Hill (PS Publishing)
  • The Reach of Children by Tim Lebbon (Humdrumming)
  • “Heads” by Gary McMahon (We Fade to Grey, Pendragon Press)
  • “The Caul Bearer” by Allyson Bird (Bull Running for Girls, Screaming Dreams)
  • “N” by Stephen King (Just After Sunset, Hodder & Stoughton)
  • “Winter Journey” by Joel Lane (Black Static #5)
  • “All Mouth” by Paul Meloy (Black Static #6)
  • “The Vague” by Paul Meloy (Islington Crocodiles, TTA Press)
  • “Do You See” by Sarah Pinborough (Myth-Understandings, Newcon Press)
  • “Pinholes in Black Muslin” by Simon Strantzas (The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror, Humdrumming)
  • “The Tobacconist’s Concession” by John Travis (The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror, Humdrumming)
  • Bull Running for Girls by Allyson Bird (Screaming Dreams)
  • Just After Sunset by Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • How to Make Monsters by Gary McMahon (Morrigan Books)
  • Islington Crocodiles by Paul Meloy (TTA Press)
  • Glyphotech by Mark Samuels (PS Publishin


  • Subtle Edens edited by Allen Ashley (Elastic Press)
  • The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 19 edited by Stephen Jones (Constable & Robinson)
  • Cone Zero edited by DF Lewis (Megazanthus Press)
  • The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror edited by Ian Alexander Martin (Humdrumming)
  • We Fade to Grey edited by Gary McMahon (Pendragon Press)
  • Myth-Understandings edited by Ian Whates (Newcon Press)
  • Elastic Press (Andrew Hook)
  • Newcon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Pendragon Press (Chris Teague)
  • Screaming Dreams (Steve Upham)
  • TTA Press (Andy Cox


  • Vincent Chong (for various works)
  • Les Edwards (for various works)
  • Dave McKean (for The Graveyard Book, Bloomsbury)
  • Edward Miller (for Vault of Deeds, PS Publishing)
  • Lee Thompson (The Land at the End of the Working Day, Humdrumming)
  • The New Avengers: Illuminati written by Brian Bendis & Brian Reed art by Jim Cheung (Marvel Comics)Hellblazer: Fear Machine by Jamie Delano (Vertigo)
  • Hellblazer: The Laughing Magician written by Andy Diggle art by Leonardo Manco & Daniel Zezelj (Vertigo)
  • Locke and Key written by Joe Hill, art by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW Publishing)
  • Comic Book Tattoo Tales Inspired by Tori Amos edited by Rantz A. Hoseley & Tori Amos (Image Comics)
  • The Girly Comic Book 1 edited by Selina Lock (Factor Fiction)
  • All-Star Superman written by Grant Morrison, art by Frank Quitely (DC Comics)
  • 30 Days of Night: Beyond Barrow written by Steve Niles, art by Bill Sienkiewicz (IDW Publishing)
  • Buffy Season Eight Vol. 3: Wolves at the Gate written by Joss Whedon & Drew Goddard, art by Georges Jeanty (Dark Horse Comics)
  • Basil Copper: A Life in Books by Basil Copper, edited by Stephen Jones (PS Publishing)
  • Doctor Who: The Writer’s Tale by Russell T. Davies and Benjamin Cook (BBC Books)
  • by Neil Gaiman
  • What Is It We Do When We Read Science Fiction by Paul Kincaid (Beccon Publications)
  • Mutant Popcorn by Nick Lowe (Interzone, TTA Press)
  • Black Static edited by Andy Cox (TTA Press)
  • Interzone edited by Andy Cox et. al. (TTA Press)
  • Midnight Street edited by Trevor Denyer
  • Postscripts edited by Peter Crowther & Nick Gevers (PS Publishing)
  • SFX edited by Dave Bradley (Future Publishing Limited)
  • Battlestar Galactica (NBC)
  • Dead Set (Zeppotron/Channel 4)
  • Dexter (Clyde Phillips Productions)
  • Doctor Who (BBC Wales)
  • Supernatural (Warner Bros TV)
  • Cloverfield directed by Matt Reeves
  • Iron Man directed by Jon Favreau
  • The Dark Knight directed by Christopher Nolan
  • The Mist directed by Frank Darabont
  • The Orphanage directed by Juan Antonio Bayona

[via SF Scope and SF Awards Watch]

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

1 Comment on FINALISTS: 2009 British Fantasy Awards

  1. Hmm, I think someone made a mistake here. These are surely the British Horror Awards – there doesn’t appear to be much fantasy on this list at all.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: