News Ticker

WINNERS: 2009 James Tiptree, Jr. Award

The winners of this year’s James Tiptree, Jr. Award have been announced:

  • Greer Gilman for Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales [2009, Small Beer Press]
  • Fumi Yoshinaga for Ooku: The Inner Chambers, (volumes 1 & 2) [2009, VIZ Media]

The James Tiptree, Jr. Award is an annual literary prize intended to “reward those women and men who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society.” The award is named after Alice B. Sheldon, who wrote under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr. for many years before revealing her identity and real name.

For more information see The James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council website.

Congratulations to the winners!

See also: Past winners.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: