News Ticker

TOC: The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard

Later this year, Subterranean Press will be publishing The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard, a 560-page limited edition collection. Here’s the description:

Among the great pulp writers whose work continues to enthrall new generations of readers — Edgar Rice Burroughs, H.P. Lovecraft, Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler–few were as versatile as Robert E. Howard. Best known as the creator of Conan, Howard also wrote not only of other memorable fantasy characters, such as Puritan swordsman Solomon Kane and Pictish king Bran Mak Morn, but hundreds of stories of boxing, detection, westerns, horror, “weird menace,” desert adventure, lost race, historicals, “spicies”, even “true confessions.”

Robert E. Howard is best known as the father of “sword and sorcery” fiction, an exciting blend of swashbuckling action and supernatural horror epitomized by his characters King Kull, barbarian usurper of the throne of fabled Valusia, and Conan, who wanders the Hyborian Age “to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet.”

But the young Texas author was far more gifted and versatile than many readers know: in a career that lasted only twelve years before his untimely death, he wrote some 300 stories and 800 poems, covering anastonishing variety of subject matter–fantasy, boxing, westerns, horror, adventure, historical, detective, spicy, even confessions–running the gamut from dark fantasy to broad humor, from brooding horror to gentle love story.

Important note: The Subterranean Press edition of The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard will include a number of never before published full-color plates.

And here is the (huge!) table of contents:

  1. Foreword
  2. Introduction
  3. “In the Forest of Villefère”
  4. “A Song of the Werewolf Folk”
  5. “Wolfshead”
  6. “Up, John Kane!”
  7. “Remembrance”
  8. “The Dream Snake”
  9. “Sea Curse”
  10. “The Moor Ghost”
  11. “Moon Mockery”
  12. “The Little People”
  13. “Dead Man’s Hate”
  14. “The Tavern”
  15. “Rattle of Bones”
  16. “The Fear That Follows”
  17. “The Spirit of Tom Molyneaux”
  18. “Casonetto’s Last Song”
  19. “The Touch of Death”
  20. “Out of the Deep”
  21. “A Legend of Faring Town”
  22. “Restless Waters”
  23. “The Shadow of the Beast”
  24. “The Dead Slaver’s Tale”
  25. “Dermod’s Bane”
  26. “The Hills of the Dead”
  27. “Dig Me No Grave”
  28. “The Song of a Mad Minstrel”
  29. “The Children of the Night”
  30. “Musings”
  31. “The Black Stone”
  32. “The Thing on the Roof”
  33. “The Dweller in Dark Valley”
  34. “The Horror from the Mound”
  35. “A Dull Sound as of Knocking”
  36. “People of the Dark”
  37. “Delenda Est”
  38. “The Cairn on the Headland”
  39. “Worms of the Earth”
  40. “The Symbol”
  41. “The Valley of the Lost”
  42. “The Hoofed Thing”
  43. “The Noseless Horror”
  44. “The Dwellers Under the Tomb”
  45. “An Open Window”
  46. “The House of Arabu”
  47. “The Man on the Ground”
  48. “Old Garfield’s Heart”
  49. “Kelly the Conjure-Man”
  50. “Black Canaan”
  51. “To a Woman”
  52. “One Who Comes at Eventide”
  53. “The Haunter of the Ring”
  54. “Pigeons from Hell”
  55. “The Dead Remember”
  56. “The Fire of Asshurbanipal”
  57. “Fragment”
  58. “Which Will Scarcely Be Understood”

Additionally, there is a section called….


  • “Golnor the Ape”
  • “Spectres in the Dark”
  • “The House”
  • “Untitled Fragment”
  • Appendix
  • Notes on the Original Howard Texts
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

2 Comments on TOC: The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard


    Except for the color plates, this is the same as Del Rey’s trade paperback editon released last year at a much more reasonable price.


    “And here is the (huge!) table of contents:”


    Yes, but a fair number of them are 1-page poems. There are about 35 stories though, and a large number of these are of excellent quality.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: