News Ticker

Connie Willis Wins 2011 Robert A. Heinlein Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced the winner of the 2011 Robert A. Heinlein Award: Connie Willis.

The award honors outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space.

[via Science Fiction Awards Watch]

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

7 Comments on Connie Willis Wins 2011 Robert A. Heinlein Award

  1. Explain how these books, telling a time-travel tale of World War II, encourage the exploration of space, please, because I’m not getting it.

  2. I was puzzled by that, too. Don’t see anything on the website to explain it.


  3. Connie is encouraging us to leave the Earth, so we don’t get the black plague.


  4. And odd choice for this award.  But over the years I’ve been very disappointed in most “award winning” books.

  5. You’re only allowed to give awards to Connie Willis, Neil Gaiman and Neal Stephenson.

  6. Claybonnyman // September 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm //

    Total bafflement on this one. I’ve met Connie Willis and she is a very, very nice person. Some of her writing is pretty compelling, but she’s long past her peak and just doing the samesamesame thing over and over again. People eat it up and, as pjcamp notes, give her awards all over the place (hilarious comment re Willis and Gaiman – I’d say Mieville before Stephenson, though). She has barely ever written about space. There are so many more deserving recipients. Let’s just start giving her all the awards, every year, shall we?


    In Jo Walton’s series about the Hugo’s on, she was saying sometimes voters just vote for their favorite author, even if they haven’t read the current book.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: