News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2011 Nebula Awards (With Free Fiction Links!)

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced the nominees for the 2011 Nebula Awards (presented in 2012), the nominees for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and the nominees for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book.

[UPDATE: Added Free Fiction Links — thanks Eric!]


  • Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan UK; Del Rey; Subterranean Press)
  • Firebird, Jack McDevitt (Ace Books)
  • God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Night Shade Books)
  • Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti, Genevieve Valentine (Prime Books)
  • The Kingdom of Gods, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

  • Kiss Me Twice” by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2011)
  • Silently and Very Fast” by Catherynne M. Valente (WFSA Press; Clarkesworld Magazine, October 2011)
  • “The Ice Owl” by Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, November/December 2011)
  • The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011)
  • The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary” by Ken Liu (Panverse Three, Panverse Publishing)
  • “With Unclean Hands” by Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, November 2011)
  • Fields of Gold” by Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4, Night Shade Books)
  • “Ray of Light” by Brad R. Torgersen (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, December 2011)
  • Sauerkraut Station” by Ferrett Steinmetz (Giganotosaurus, November 2011)
  • Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders (, June 2011)
  • The Migratory Pattern of Dancers” by Katherine Sparrow (Giganotosaurus, July 2011)
  • The Old Equations” by Jake Kerr (Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011)
  • “What We Found” by Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011)
Short Story
Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
  • Attack the Block, Joe Cornish (writer/director) (Optimum Releasing; Screen Gems)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger, Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely (writers), Joe Johnston (director) (Paramount)
  • Doctor Who: “The Doctor’s Wife,” Neil Gaiman (writer), Richard Clark (director) (BBC Wales)
  • Hugo, John Logan (writer), Martin Scorsese (director) (Paramount)
  • Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen (writer/director) (Sony)
  • Source Code, Ben Ripley (writer), Duncan Jones (director) (Summit)
  • The Adjustment Bureau, George Nolfi (writer/director) (Universal)
Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

  • Akata Witch, Nnedi Okorafor (Viking Juvenile)
  • Chime, Franny Billingsley (Dial Books; Bloomsbury)
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Everybody Sees the Ants, A.S. King (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
  • The Boy at the End of the World, Greg van Eekhout (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
  • The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House)
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Rae Carson (Greenwillow Books)
  • Ultraviolet, R.J. Anderson (Orchard Books; Carolrhoda Books)

The winners will be announced at SFWA’s 47th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend, to be held Thursday through Sunday, May 17 to May 20, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City in Arlington, Virginia, near Reagan National Airport. As announced earlier this year, Connie Willis will be the recipient of the 2011 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for her lifetime contributions and achievements in the field. Walter Jon Williams will preside as toastmaster, with Astronaut Michael Fincke as keynote speaker.

The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of SFWA. Voting will open to SFWA Active members on March 1 and close on March 30.

Founded in 1965 by the late Damon Knight, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America brings together the most successful and daring writers of speculative fiction throughout the world.

Since its inception, SFWA® has grown in numbers and influence until it is now widely recognized as one of the most effective non-profit writers’ organizations in existence, boasting a membership of approximately 2,000 science fiction and fantasy writers as well as artists, editors and allied professionals. Each year the organization presents the prestigious Nebula Awards® for the year’s best literary and dramatic works of speculative fiction.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

18 Comments on FINALISTS: 2011 Nebula Awards (With Free Fiction Links!)

  1. 2/6 already read on the novel list. Better than my usual batting average.

  2. I can’t tell if that’s the full story of the Kij Johnson novella or not (see the bottom of that page), though Asimov’s is likely to post the full text at some point.

    Oh, I’ve a link for you to the Rachel Swirsky story and the link for Charlie Jane Anders redirects to the GigaNotoSaurus story above it.

  3. There’s free online audio versions of the Clarkesworld and Lightspeed stories, but Clarkesworld doesn’t make it easy to find them from the text version.

  4. David Greybeard // February 20, 2012 at 1:31 pm //

    Firebird, Jack McDevitt (Ace Books) !!!

    The Alex Benedict series is just about the finest SF series around. I hope great Jack McDevitt wins!

  5. He already won for Seeker. That probably puts him out of the running here.

    • True, he did win previously but it would be a shame if the best book misses out on the award simply because he won before. I agree you have to allow new entrants to have a fair chance, but the winner should be the winner because it is the best, not because of past successes. I put my vote firmly in Jack McDevitt’s direction!

  6. Hoping for China Miéville to win in novels!

  7. The cover collage at the top of the page has the wrong cover for Jack McDevitt’s _Firebird_. Please fix!

  8. And, just like last year, trailers for all the short stories.

  9. Some free online audio versions:

  10. it’s the wrong NK Jemisin cover.

  11. OldMiser // March 23, 2012 at 7:46 pm //

    The present link to the novella “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson goes to an excerpt from that story. The whole story is available at . (This also needs to be fixed in the “Free SF/F/H Fiction for 2/29/2012” post.)

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: