News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2012 British Fantasy Awards

The finalists for the 2012 British Fantasy Awards have been announced:

  • The Heroes; Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • 11.22.63; Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Cyber Circus; Kim Lakin-Smith (NewCon Press)
  • A Dance with Dragons; George RR Martin (Harper Voyager)
  • The Ritual; Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • Among Others; Jo Walton (Tor Books)

There will be two awards in the best Novel category: The August Derleth Award for best horror novel and The Robert Holdstock Award for best fantasy novel.

  • Terra Damnata; James Cooper (PS Publishing)
  • “Ghosts with Teeth”; Peter Crowther (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • King Death; Paul Finch (Spectral Press)
  • “Near Zennor”; Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • “The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer”; John Ajvide Lindqvist (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Gorel and the Pot Bellied God; Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
Short Fiction
  • “Dermot”; Simon Bestwick (Black Static)
  • “Sad, Dark Thing”; Michael Marshall Smith (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Florrie”; Adam Nevill (House of Fear)
  • “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet”; Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
  • “The Coffin-Maker’s Daughter”; Angela Slatter (A Book of Horrors)

  • A Book of Horrors; editor Stephen Jones (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • House of Fear; editor Jonathan Oliver (Solaris Books)
  • The Weird; editors Jeff and Ann Vandermeer (Corvus Books)
  • Gutshot; editor Conrad Williams (PS Publishing)
  • Rumours of the Marvellous; Peter Atkins (Alchemy Press)
  • Mrs Midnight; Reggie Oliver (Tartarus Press)
  • Everyone’s Just So So Special; Robert Shearman (Big Finish)
  • A Glass of Shadow; Liz Williams (NewCon Press)
  • Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen
  • Attack the Block by Joe Cornish
  • The Awakening by Stephen Volk and Nick Murphy
  • Melancholia by Lars Von Trier
  • Kill List by Ben Wheatley and Amy Jump
  • Black Static; ed. Andy Cox TTA Press
  • Interzone; ed. Andy Cox TTA Press
  • SFX, ed. Dave Bradley Future Publishing
  • The Horror Zine, ed. Jeani Rector
Comic/Graphic Novel
  • Animal Man; Jeff Lemire and Travel Foreman (DC Comics)
  • Batwoman; JH Williams III and W Haden Blackman (DC Comics)
  • Locke and Key; Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW Publishing)
  • The Unwritten; Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo)
  • The Walking Dead; Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Image)
The PS Publishing Independent Press Award
  • Chomu Press; Quentin S Crisp
  • Gray Friar Press; Gary Fry
  • NewCon Press; Ian Whates
  • Spectral Press; Simon Marshall-Jones
The Artist Award
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Daniele Serra
The Non-Fiction Award
  • Lest You Should Suffer Nightmares: A biography of Herbert Van Thal; Johnny Mains (Screaming Dreams)
  • Supergods: Our World in the Age of the Superhero; Grant Morrison (Jonathan Cape)
  • Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen since the 1960s; Kim Newman (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • Studies in Terror: Landmarks of Horror Cinema; Jonathan Rigby (Signum Books)
  • Case Notes; Peter Tennant (Black Static)

Congratulations to all the nominees!

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

3 Comments on FINALISTS: 2012 British Fantasy Awards

  1. No “Best Artist” award this year?

  2. Uh, how did Joe Hill’s “Woolverton Station” get left off the Short Fiction ballot?

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: