News Ticker

TOC: ‘The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume 7: We Are for the Dark’

Subterranean Press has posted the table of contents for their upcoming collection The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume 7: We Are for the Dark.

From Robert Silverberg’s introduction:

The stories collected here, written between August of 1987 and May of 1990, demonstrate that I still believe in the classical unities. Of course, what seems to us a unity now might not have appeared that way when H.G. Wells was writing his wonderful stories in the nineteenth century. Wells might have argued that my “To the Promised Land” is built around two speculative fantastic assumptions, one that the Biblical Exodus from Egypt never happened, the other that it is possible to send rocketships to other worlds. But in fact we’ve sent plenty of rocketships to other worlds by now, so only my story’s alternative-world speculation remains fantasy today. Technically speaking the space-travel element of the plot has become part of the given; it’s the other big assumption that forms the central matter of the story.

The table of contents is as follows…

  1. “The Dead Man’s Eyes”
  2. “Enter A Soldier. Later: Enter Another”
  3. “To The Promised Land”
  4. “Chip Runner”
  5. “A Sleep And A Forgetting”
  6. “In Another Country”
  7. “The Asenion Solution”
  8. “We Are For The Dark”
  9. “Lion Time In Timbuctoo”
  10. “A Tip On A Turtle”
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: