News Ticker

TOC: ‘Win Some, Lose Some’ by Mike Resnick

Here’s the table of contents for his/Mike Resnick’s upcoming collection Win Some, Lose Some: The Hugo Award Winning (and Nominated) Short Science Fiction and Fantasy of Mike Resnick.

Here’s the book description, which features an introduction by Carol Resnick:

Between 1989 and 2012, a span of 23 years, the members of the World Science Fiction Society have seen fit to honor Mike Resnick with 36 Hugo nominations, 30 for his fiction, more than any other science fiction author. The 30 nominated short stories, including the five winning tales, are included in this volume. As you read through these stories, you ll find Theodore Roosevelt attempting to bring civilization to the Congo…and to London. You ll return, with some regularity, to Africa, whether a mythical version existing on a terraformed asteroid or the historical birthplace of humanity along the Olduvai Gorge. Love and loss are depicted whether for a missing spouse, an old friend, an author one has never met, or a copper-skinned Martian princess. Walk in the dusty footsteps of Koriba or see what it is like to live with Dr. Frankenstein, his monster, and Igor. Like the fables which are embedded in so many of these tales, these stories will entertain and make you think. Without seeming to, Resnick adds layers of depth to even the most innocuous-seeming story. And when you are finished, you ll find yourself thinking about all they have to say.

Here’s the table of contents…

  • 1989 – “Kirinyaga” (winner), Introduced by Gardner Dozois
  • 1990 – “For I Have Touched the Sky, Introduced by Nancy Kress
  • 1991 – “Bully!”, Introduced by Harry Turtledove
  • 1991 – “The Manamouki” (winner), Introduced by Connie Willis
  • 1992 – “Winter Solstice”, Introduced by Laura Resnick
  • 1992 – “One Perfect Morning, With Jackals”, Introduced by Janis Ian
  • 1993 – “The Lotus and the Spear”, Introduced by Ralph Roberts
  • 1994 – “Mwalimu in the Squared Circle”, Introduced by Barry N. Malzberg
  • 1995 – “Barnaby in Exile”, Introduced by John Scalzi
  • 1995 – “A Little Knowledge”, Introduced by Nick DiChario
  • 1995 – “Seven Views of Olduvai Gorge” (winner), Introduced by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • 1996 – “When the Old Gods Die”, Introduced by Michael Stackpole
  • 1996 – “Bibi (with Susan Schwartz)”, Introduced by Susan Shwartz
  • 1997 – “The Land of Nod”, Introduced by Lou Anders
  • 1998 – “The 43 Antarean Dynasties” (winner), Introduced by Michael Swanwick
  • 2000 – “Hothouse Flowers”, Introduced by Kay Kenyon
  • 2000 – “Hunting the Snark”, Introduced by David Brin
  • 2001 – “The Elephants on Neptune”, Introduced by Jack McDevitt
  • 2002 – “Old MacDonald Had a Farm”, Introduced by Eric Flint
  • 2002 – “Redchapel”, Introduced by Kevin J. Anderson
  • 2004 – “Robots Don’t Cry”, Introduced by Robert Silverberg
  • 2005 – “A Princess of Earth”, Introduced by Catherine Asaro
  • 2005 – “Travels with My Cats” (winner), Introduced by Sheila Williams
  • 2006 – “Down Memory Lane”, Introduced by Michael A. Burstein
  • 2007 – “All the Things You Are”, Introduced by Robert J. Sawyer
  • 2008 – “Distant Replay”, Introduced by Lezli Robyn
  • 2009 – “Article of Faith”, Introduced by James Patrick Kelly
  • 2009 – “Alastair Baffle’s Emporium of Wonders”, Introduced by Bill Fawcett
  • 2010 – “The Bride of Frankenstein”, Introduced by Kij Johnson
  • 2011 – “The Homecoming”, Introduced by Brad R. Torgersen

Book info as per Amazon US:

  • Hardcover: 660 pages
  • Publisher: ISFiC Press; First edition (August 30, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0985798904
  • ISBN-13: 978-0985798901
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: