News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2012 A.E. van Vogt Award

From a press release…The finalists for selection to receive the 2012 A.E. van Vogt Award are:

  • Lady of Mazes by Karl Schroeder 0765350785 Published June 27th 2006 by Tor Science Fiction
  • Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke 1894063147 Published September 1st 2006 by Edge
  • The Other by Matthew Hughes 098266396X Published November 1st 2011 by Underland Press

The award is named after Manitoba born A.E.Van Vogt, Canada”s only Grand Master Science Fiction author and is sponsored by the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association (WINSFA), ConAdian, the 1994 World SF Con and Science Fiction Winnipeg (SFW). The award includes a $1200.00 cash award and certificate

The Winner will be announced at the end of the year.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

6 Comments on FINALISTS: 2012 A.E. van Vogt Award

  1. Raimo Kangasniemi // December 28, 2012 at 11:35 pm //

    What’s the selection criteria here (beyond authors being Canadian, I assume)? Two novels from 2006, one from 2011, selection made in 2012, prize assumedly given in 2013?

    Lady of Mazes was pretty good.

  2. I wish I could say I have more details, but I don’t.

    • Curious. Did they just send a press release email or something?

      Given that the body handing out the award is the Winnipeg SF Association, it looks like a regional fan award suggesting either a jury or a membership vote. Somewhat unfortunate that the context is non-obvious as ‘here are some interesting books by authors from the Winnipeg area’ is a lot more interesting than the suggestion that these might somehow be the best books of the year.

      • Yes, it was an email, same as last time, which stated that “The actual award will consist of a presentation piece and monetary prize.” But yeah, vague criteria and — maybe because it’s the first? — seems to cover books from previous years.

    • Hit reply too soon. Doesn’t look like there is any selection criteria other than Canadian and recent. The award is intended to honor van Vogt and call attention to Canadian writers who may not be getting much notice.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: