News Ticker

TOC: ‘Solaris Rising 2: The New Solaris Book of Science Fiction’ Edited by Ian Whates

Here is the synopsis and table of contents for the upcoming anthology Solaris Rising 2: The New Solaris Book of Science Fiction edited by Ian Whates:

First, the book description:

Following the exceptionally well received first collection, Solaris Rising 2 brings even more best-selling and cutting edge SF authors together for another extraordinary volume of ground-breaking stories.
Having re-affirmed Solaris’s proud reputation for producing high quality science fiction anthologies in the first volume, Solaris Rising 2 is the next collection in this exciting series. Featuring stories by Allan Steele, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Kim Lakin-Smith, Paul Cornell, Eugie Foster, Nick Harkaway, Nancy Kress, Kay Kenyon, James Lovegrove, Robert Reed, Mercurio D. Rivera, Norman Spinrad, Adrian Tchaikovsky, Liz Williams, Vandana Singh, Martin Sketchley, and more. These stories are guaranteed to surprise, thrill and delight, and maintain our mission to demonstrate why science fiction remains the most exiting, varied and inspiring of all fiction genres. In Solaris Rising we showed both the quality and variety that modern science fiction can produce. In Solaris Rising 2, we’ll be taking that much, much further.

Here’s the table of contents…

  1. “Tom” by Paul Cornell
  2. “More” by Nancy Kress
  3. “Shall Inherit” by James Lovegrove
  4. “Feast and Famine” by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  5. “Whatever Skin You Wear” by Eugie Foster
  6. “Pearl in the Shell” by Neil Williamson
  7. “The Time Gun” by Nick Harkaway
  8. “When Thomas Jefferson Dined Alone” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  9. “Bonds” by Robert Reed
  10. “Ticking” by Allen Steele
  11. “Before Hope” by Kim Lakin-Smith
  12. “The Spires of Greme” by Kay Kenyon
  13. “Manmade” by Mercurio D. Rivera
  14. “The Circle of Least Confusion” by Martin Sketchley
  15. “Far Distant Suns” by Norman Spinrad
  16. “The Lighthouse” by Liz Williams
  17. “The First Dance” by Martin McGrath
  18. “Still Life with Skull” by Mike Allen
  19. “With Fate Conspire” by Vandana Singh

Book info as per Amazon US:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Solaris (March 26, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1781080887
  • ISBN-13: 978-1781080887
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

4 Comments on TOC: ‘Solaris Rising 2: The New Solaris Book of Science Fiction’ Edited by Ian Whates

  1. Whates Ian = Ian Whates.

  2. Well I guess 7 stories by women out of 20 is an improvement on the terrible 4 out of 21 from Solaris Rising 1.

  3. Ian Whates // March 13, 2013 at 3:46 am //

    As mentioned elsewhere, the quality of the story has always been paramount for me, not whether the author is male, female, or a small furry creature from Alpha Centauri; but, for the mathematically challenged, in this instance it’s actually 7 women authors out of 19.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: