News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2013 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards (with Free Fiction Links)

The finalists for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award (honoring the best short science fiction story published in 2012) and John W. Campbell Memorial Award (honoring the best science fiction novel of 2012) have just been announced.

2013 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Nominees

“Close Encounters” by Andy Duncan (The Pottawottamie Giant) was a finalist, but Duncan, a juror, removed it from consideration.

2013 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Nominees
  • The Hydrogen Sonata by Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
  • Any Day Now by Terry Bisson (Overlook)
  • Existence by David Brin (Tor)
  • The Rapture of the Nerds by Cory Doctorow & Charles Stross (Tor)
  • Empty Space by M. John Harrison (Night Shade)
  • Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
  • Railsea by China Miéville (Del Rey)
  • The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi (Tor)
  • Blue Remembered Earth by Alastair Reynolds (Ace)
  • Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Slow Apocalypse by John Varley (Ace)
  • Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson (Grove Press)

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award and John W. Campbell Memorial Awar will be presented at the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet being held on July 13-16, 2013 at the Oread Hotel in Lawrence KS.

Congrats to all the finalists!

[via Locus Online.]

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

6 Comments on FINALISTS: 2013 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards (with Free Fiction Links)

  1. OldMiser // May 12, 2013 at 1:05 am //

    The link labeled “Mono No Aware” actually goes to a different Ken Liu story.

  2. Thanks for all these links. A quick clip to Kindle, and I’m set!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: