News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2013 British Fantasy Awards

The finalists for the 2013 British Fantasy Awards have been announced:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)
  • Blood and Feathers, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
  • The Brides of Rollrock Island, Margo Lanagan (David Fickling Books)
  • Railsea, China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • Red Country, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
  • The Drowning Girl, Caitlin R. Kiernan (Roc)
  • The Kind Folk, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Last Days, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)
  • Silent Voices, Gary McMahon (Solaris)
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
Best Novella
  • Curaré, Michael Moorcock (Zenith Lives!) (Obverse Books)
  • Eyepennies, Mike O’Driscoll (TTA Press)
  • The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine, John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral Press)
  • The Respectable Face of Tyranny, Gary Fry (Spectral Press)
Best Short Story
  • “Our Island”, Ralph Robert Moore (Where Are We Going?) (Eibonvale Press)
  • “Shark! Shark!” Ray Cluley (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)
  • “Sunshine”, Nina Allan (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)
  • “Wish for a Gun”, Sam Sykes (A Town Called Pandemonium) (Jurassic London)
Best Collection
  • From Hell to Eternity, Thana Niveau (Gray Friar Press)
  • Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)
  • Where Furnaces Burn, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)
  • The Woman Who Married a Cloud, Jonathan Carroll (Subterannean Press)
Best Anthology
  • A Town Called Pandemonium, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)
  • Magic: an Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)
  • The Mammoth Book of Ghost Stories by Women, Marie O’Regan (ed.) (Robinson)
  • Terror Tales of the Cotswolds, Paul Finch (ed.) (Gray Friar Press)
Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)
  • ChiZine Publications (Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi)
  • Gray Friar Press (Gary Fry)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)
  • TTA Press (Andy Cox)
Best Non-Fiction
  • Ansible, David Langford
  • The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (eds) (Cambridge University Press)
  • Coffinmaker’s Blues, Stephen Volk (Black Static) (TTA Press)
  • Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.)
  • Pornokitsch, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds)
  • Reflections: On the Magic of Writing, Diana Wynne Jones (David Fickling Books)
Best Magazine/Periodical
  • Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • SFX, David Bradley (ed.) (Future Publishing)
  • Shadows and Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Publications)
Best Artist
  • Ben Baldwin
  • David Rix
  • Les Edwards
  • Sean Phillips
  • Vincent Chong
Best Comic/Graphic Novel
  • Dial H, China Miéville, Mateus Santolouco, David Lapham and Riccardo Burchielli (DC Comics)
  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • The Unwritten, Mike Carey, Peter Gross, Gary Erskine, Gabriel Hernández Walta, M.K. Perker, Vince Locke and Rufus Dayglo (DC Comics/Vertigo)
  • The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Skybound Entertainment/Image Comics)
Best Screenplay
  • Avengers Assemble, Joss Whedon
  • Sightseers, Alice Lowe, Steve Oram and Amy Jump
  • The Cabin in the Woods, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro
Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)
  • Alison Moore, for The Lighthouse (Salt Publishing)
  • Anne Lyle, for The Alchemist of Souls (Angry Robot)
  • E.C. Myers, for Fair Coin (Pyr)
  • Helen Marshall, for Hair Side, Flesh Side (ChiZine Publications)
  • Kim Curran, for Shift (Strange Chemistry)
  • Lou Morgan, for Blood and Feathers (Solaris)
  • Molly Tanzer, for A Pretty Mouth (Lazy Fascist Press)
  • Saladin Ahmed, for Throne of the Crescent Moon (Gollancz)
  • Stephen Bacon, for Peel Back the Sky (Gray Friar Press)
  • Stephen Blackmoore, for City of the Lost (Daw Books)

The winners of these categories will now be decided by the following juries. Main jury, deciding the categories of fantasy novel, horror novel, novella, short story, collection, anthology, magazine/periodical, comic/graphic novel and screenplay: Esther Sherman, Matthew Hughes, Neil Williamson, Pauline Morgan and Ros Jackson. Best non-fiction: Djibril al-Ayad, Jason Arnopp and Roz Kaveney. Best artist: Daniele Serra, P.M. Buchan and Rachel Kendall. Best small press: Elaine Hillson, Elloise Hopkins, Dave Brzeski, Rachel Kendall and Rhian Bowley. Best newcomer: Adele Wearing, Alison Littlewood, Jim Steel, Lizzie Barrett and Peter Tennant.

The winners of each of these awards, as well as the winner of the Karl Edward Wagner Award (a special award decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee) and the World Fantasy Awards, will be announced at the Fantasy Awards banquet at the World Fantasy Convention in Brighton on Sunday, November 3, 2013.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

1 Comment on FINALISTS: 2013 British Fantasy Awards

  1. David Greybeard // June 18, 2013 at 9:53 am //

    Seems odd to see a YA novel, Railsea, competing against adult novels.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: