News Ticker

Table of Contents: THE REVELATIONS OF ZANG by John R. Fultz

Fantastic Books has posted the table of contents for the collection The Revelations of Zang: Twelve Tales of the Continent by John R. Fultz:

Here’s the book description:

A collection of dark fantasy tales with a metaphysical edge, full of grotesque wonders and weird splendor. Artifice the Quill flees from tyrant sorcerers into a world of strange magic, ancient gods, and exotic kingdoms. The exiled author joins a traveling troupe of performers known as the Glimmer Faire, where he learns the magical power of art and the art of magical power. These Twelve Tales of the Continent alternate between the exploits of Artifice and the adventures of Taizo the Rogue, a master of skullduggery who sparks a rebellion in the name of bloody vengeance.

The Lost Gods of Narr were displaced a century ago by the Sorcerer Kings, a council of dictators who rule the Golden City with necromancy, alchemy, and terror. The mysterious folk of the Red Isle foster dissension in Narr by smuggling their enchanted goods into the city, while the ancient Zang Forest expands itself across the lands of men, devouring farms and towns as it reaches to smother the wicked city. Now that the Lost Gods are returning to destroy the world, only Artifice, Taizo, and a small band of rebels have any hope of preventing the apocalypse. Seven of these interrelated stories are previously unpublished, including “Spilling the Blood of the World,” the novelette which brings the entire Zang Cycle to a staggering finale.

Here’s the table of contents…

  1. “The Persecution of Artifice the Quill” (first appeared in Weird Tales, 2006)
  2. “Oblivion is the Sweetest Wine” (first appeared in Black Gate, 2008)
  3. “The Liberation of Lady Veronique”
  4. “When the Glimmer Faire Came to the City of the Lonely ” (first appeared in Black Gate, 2013)
  5. “The Rebirth of Zang” (The Travails of Treon and Tyriel)
  6. “The Doom of the Black Urchin”
  7. “The Bountiful Essence of the Empty Hand”
  8. “What Grows in the Season of Sorcery?”
  9. “Treasures of the Prophet”
  10. “Return of the Quill” (first appeared in Black Gate, 2009)
  11. “Spilling the Blood of the World”
  12. “The Vintages of Dream” (Bonus Tale, first appeared in Black Gate, 2011)

Book info as per Amazon US:

  • Paperback: 254 pages
  • Publisher: Fantastic Books (September 3, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1617209414
  • ISBN-13: 978-1617209413
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: