News Ticker

WINNER: 2014 Philip K. Dick Award

The winner of the 2014 Philip K. Dick Award was announced on Friday, April 18, at Norwescon 37, in SeaTac, Washington, and the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2013 in the U.S.A. is:

  • Countdown City by Ben H. Winters (Quirk Books)

A special citation was given to:

  • Self-Reference Engine by Toh EnJoe, translated by Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru)

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. The 2013 award was given to LOST EVERYTHING by Brian Francis Slattery (Tor Books) with a special citation given to LOVESTAR by Andri Snær Magnason (Seven Stories Press). The judges for the 2014 Award were Elizabeth Bear (chair), Siobhan Carroll, Michael Kandel, Jamil Nasir, and Tim Sullivan.

This year’s judges are Jon Armstrong, Ritch Calvin, Ellen Klages, Laura J. Mixon, and Michaela Roessner

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

3 Comments on WINNER: 2014 Philip K. Dick Award

  1. Congratulations to the winners. What does one call the not-winners? Losers? For that matter, do awards about subjective things like art have any meaning at all beyond what the voters found to their liking?

    • I’d call then nominees 🙂

      >>do awards about subjective things like art have any meaning at all beyond what the voters found to their liking?

      Isn’t that enough?

      The real question for any award is: What was the basis for winning? In a popular voting system, it’s just that — popularity. In a juried system, it’s whatever the judges define it to be, though that tends to be some group-think version of merit. Both award systems have their value and it shouldn’t take away from the work being honored. (A fact that will likely be sadly forgotten later today when the Hugo awards are announced. :s )

  2. Elizabeth Bear as chair for this decision gives the choice high praise. I heard great things about the first book in that series, one big fan being Hugh Howey, I’d I remember right. Will check it out. Thanks for sharing, John!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: