News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2014 Aurora Award

The finalists for the Aurora Award, celebrating the best in Canadian fiction (in both English and French), have been announced :

Best English Novel
  • Red Planet Blues by Robert J. Sawyer
  • River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • The Tattooed Witch by Susan MacGregor
  • Tombstone Blues by Chadwick Ginther
  • A Turn of Light by Julie E. Czerneda

Best English YA (Young Adult) Novel
  • The Ehrich Weisz Chronicles: Demon Gate by Marty Chan
  • Ink by Amanda Sun
  • The Lake and the Library by S.M. Beiko
  • Out of Time by D.G. Laderoute
  • Resolve by Neil Godbout
  • The Rising by Kelley Armstrong
Best English Short Fiction
  • “A Bunny Hug for Karl” by Mike Rimar
  • “Angela and Her Three Wishes” by Eileen Bell
  • “The Awakening of Master March” by Randy McCharles
  • “Ghost in the Machine” by Ryan McFadden
  • “The Gift” by Susan Forest
  • “Green Man She Restless” by Billie Milholland
  • “Living Bargains” by Suzanne Church
Best English Poem/Song
  • “A City of Buried Rivers” by David Clink
  • “Awake” by Peter Storey
  • “The Collected Postcards of Billy the Kid” by Helen Marshall
  • “Lost” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Night Journey: West Coast” by Kernaghan, Eileen
  • “Turning the Leaves” by Amal El-Mohtar
Best English Graphic Novel
  • Looking for Group by Ryan Sohmer and Lar DeSouza
  • Rock, Paper, Cynic by Peter Chiykowski
  • Weregeek by Alina Pete
  • Wild Game: Sweet Tooth Vol. 6, by Jeff Lemire
Best English Related Work
  • The Puzzle Box by The Apocalyptic Four
  • Urban Green Man edited by Adria Laycraft and Janice Blaine
  • On Spec published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Suzenyms by Susan MacGregor
  • Imaginarium 2013: The Best Canadian Speculative Writing edited by Sandra Kasturi and Samantha Beiko
Best Artist
  • Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
  • Melissa Mary Duncan, illustrations and cover art
  • Dan O’Driscoll, covers for Bundoran Press and the SF Aurora banner
  • Apis Teicher, body of work
  • Tanya Montini, cover design for The Ehrich Weisz Chronicles: Demon Gate
Best Fan Publications

No award will be given out in this category in 2014 due to insufficient eligible nominees

Best Fan Music
  • Brooke Abbey for writing and publishing 12 songs
  • Debs & Errol for CTRL+ALT+DUETS
  • Chris Hadfield for his performance of “Space Oddity”
  • Kari Maaren for Beowulf Pulled My Arm Off,
  • Devin Melanson, Leslie Hudson and, Kari Maaren for Pirate Elves in Space
Best Fan Organizational
  • Evelyn Baker and Alana Otis-Wood, co-chairs Ad Astra, Toronto
  • S.M. Beiko and Chadwick Ginther, co-chairs Chiaroscuro Reading Series, ChiSeries Winnipeg
  • Sandra Kasturi and James Bambury, co-chairs Chiaroscuro Reading Series, ChiSeries Toronto
  • Randy McCharles, chair When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Matt Moore, chair Ottawa Chiaroscuro Reading Series, ChiSeries Ottawa
  • Rose Wilson, Art Show Director, VCON 38, Vancouver
Best Fan Related Work
  • R. Graeme Cameron, weekly column in Amazing Stories Magazine
  • Steve Fahnestalk, weekly column in Amazing Stories Magazine
  • Robert Runté, ”Why I Read Canadian Speculative Fiction: The Social Dimension of Reading”, Scholar Keynote Address at ACCSFF ’13, Toronto

The Aurora Awards will be presented at V-Con in Vancouver the weekend of October 3-5.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: