News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2014 The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award (with Free Fiction Links!)

The nominees for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Sturgeon is awarded for best short science fiction by year of publication. The Award is presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, as the focal point of a weekend of discussions about the writing, illustration, publishing, teaching, and criticism of science fiction/

The finalists are:

  • “Bloom” by Gregory Norman Bossert (Asimov’s, Dec 2013)
  • The Weight of the Sunrise” by Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s, Feb 2013)
  • They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass” by Alaya Dawn Johnson (Asimov’s, Jan 2013)
  • Over There” by Will McIntosh (Asimov’s, Jan 2013)
  • “The Wildfires of Antarctica” by Alan De Niro (Tyrannia and Other Renditions, Small Beer Press; originally appeared in Oct/Nov Asimov’s)
  • The Irish Astronaut” by Val Nolan (Electric Velocipede, May 2013)
  • In Joy, Knowing the Abyss Behind” by Sarah Pinsker (Strange Horizons, July 2013)
  • Mystic Falls” by Robert Reed (Clarkesworld, Nov 2013)
  • “Selected Program Notes from the Retrospective Exhibition of Theresa Rosenberg Latimer” by Kenneth Scheyer (Kenneth Schneyer. Clockwork Phoenix 4, Mythic Delirium Books)
  • The Urashima Effect” by E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld, June 2013)

See also: Past winners

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: