News Ticker

WINNERS: 1939 Retro Hugo Award

The winners of the 1939 Retro Hugo Award were announced at LonCon 3:

  • BEST NOVEL: The Sword in the Stone by T. H. White (Collins)
  • BEST NOVELLA: “Who Goes There?” by Don A Stuart [John W. Campbell] (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1938)
  • BEST NOVELETTE: “Rule 18” by Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science-Fiction, July 1938)
  • BEST SHORT STORY: “How We Went to Mars” by Arthur C. Clarke (Amateur Science Stories, March 1938)
  • BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION (Short Form): The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells. Written by Howard Koch & Anne Froelick, directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater on the Air, CBS)
  • BEST EDITOR – Short Form: John W. Campbell
  • BEST FANZINE: Imagination! edited by Forrest J Ackerman, Morojo, and T. Bruce Yerke
  • BEST FAN WRITER: Ray Bradbury

The following other awards were also made:

  • The First Fandom Hall of Fame Award was presented to John Clute.
  • First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Awards were presented to John “Ted” Carnell and Walter H. Gillings.
  • The Sam Moskowitz Archive Awards was presented to Mike Ashley.
  • The Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award was presented to Vincent Docherty.
  • A special Committee Award, decided by the Loncon 3 committee rather than being voted on by the membership, was awarded to Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster in recognition of the first published appearance of Superman.

1,307 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot. The full statistics for the nominating and final ballots are available from the Loncon 3 web site.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: