News Ticker

On My Radar: SALAMANDERS: REBIRTH by Nick Kyme, THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF SF STORIES BY WOMEN by Alex Dally MacFarlane (Ed.), SOVEREIGN VOLUME 1 by Roberson/Maybury

Here’s a trio of books coming out soon that I’d love to devour.


 
(Black Library | December 2, 2014 | Cover illustration artist: unknown)
 

SYNOPSIS:

Book four in the Salamanders series.

Five Years have passed since war came to Nocturne. Third Company, still feeling its losses, recovers its strength. And though a small party have ventured out in search of a certain errant fire-born, it is the Salamanders of Fifth Company who must wage war. On Heletine, the Black Legion has come in the name of Chaos and only Brother-Captain Drakgaard’s warriors stand in the way of their dark glory. Victory for the Imperium hinges on the alliance between the Salamanders and The Sisters of the Ebon Chalice, warrior zealots and devout servants of the Ecclesiarchy. But there is more to this Promethean War than conquest, and only as the conflict grinds on are the true motives of the enemy revealed…

WHY IT’S ON MY RADAR:
For the past two years, I’ve been reading Warhammer 40K trilogies around the holidays. This year, the plan (despite my ever-shrinking reading time) is to dig into the Salamanders trilogy. That puts the start of this new trilogy on my radar.


 
The Mammoth Book of SF Stories by Women edited by Alex Dally MacFarlane
(Running Press | December 2, 2014 | Cover illustration artist: Joe Roberts)
 

SYNOPSIS:

33 outstanding science fiction stories by women

Travel by train to the Moon, discover living spaceships born in gas giants and explore the constellations, alternate universes and post-apocalyptic worlds of this compelling collection of SF written by women.
Whether crossing the stars or constructing the future of our planet, women have always written powerful, important science fiction. This anthology showcases the most exceptional SF stories written by women in recent decades, from classic stars Ursula K. Le Guin and Angélica Gorodischer; science fiction greats Karen Joy Fowler and Nancy Kress; new award-winning talents Elizabeth Bear, Nnedi Okorafor and Aliette de Bodard; and many more.

WHY IT’S ON MY RADAR:
Have you seen the stellar table of contents?


 
Sovereign Volume 1 by Chris Roberson (Author), Paul Maybury (Illustrator)
(Image Comics | December 16, 2014 | Cover illustration artist: Paul Maybury)
 

SYNOPSIS:

An epic fantasy in the tradition of Game of Thrones, Sovereign is set in a world which once knew gods, demons, and magic, and to which all three are returning. New York Times bestseller Chris Roberson joins artist Paul Maybury to tell the story of masked undertakers facing the undead with swords, of civil wars and cultures in collision, and of ancient threats emerging from the ashes of history to menace the future. Collects Sovereign #1-5, plus extras.

WHY IT’S ON MY RADAR:
I’m a huge fan of Roberson’s novels, but sadly lost touch when he made the jump to comics — a move which seems to have proved very successful for him. (Good on you, Chris!) I’m long overdue for checking out his work in another medium. Oh, and that whole “masked undertakers facing the undead with swords” bit? Yes, please.

About John DeNardo (13013 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

1 Comment on On My Radar: SALAMANDERS: REBIRTH by Nick Kyme, THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF SF STORIES BY WOMEN by Alex Dally MacFarlane (Ed.), SOVEREIGN VOLUME 1 by Roberson/Maybury

  1. I am very excited for The Mammoth Book of SF Stories by Women!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: