News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2014 Nebula Awards (with Free Fiction Links!)


The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced the 2014 Nebula Awards nominees (presented in 2015), nominees for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and the nominees for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.

  • The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Tor)
  • Trial by Fire, Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
  • Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu (Tor)
  • Coming Home, Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Annihilation, Jeff VanderMeer (FSG Originals; Fourth Estate; HarperCollins Canada)
Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
  • Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Written by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Screenplay by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
  • Edge of Tomorrow, Screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie and Jez Butterworth and John-Henry Butterworth (Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
  • Interstellar, Written by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan (Paramount Pictures)
  • The Lego Movie, Screenplay by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
  • Unmade, Sarah Rees Brennan (Random House)
  • Salvage, Alexandra Duncan (Greenwillow)
  • Love Is the Drug, Alaya Dawn Johnson (Levine)
  • Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future, A.S. King (Little, Brown)
  • Dirty Wings, Sarah McCarry (St. Martin’s Griffin)
  • Greenglass House, Kate Milford (Clarion)
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, Leslye Walton (Candlewick)

Congratulations to all the nominees!

About the Nebula Awards
The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of SFWA. Voting will open to SFWA Active members on March 1 and close on March 30. More information is available from

About the Nebula Awards Weekend
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 50th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend will be held at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, Illinois, June 4 through 7, 2015. The weekend will include tours and workshops, including workshops on self-publishing and IP law and other legal issues of interest to writers.

The cost to attend is $70, and the Weekend is open to both SFWA members and non-members. For more information, please see, or contact Steven H Silver at

About SFWA
Founded in 1965 by the late Damon Knight, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America brings together the most successful and daring writers of speculative fiction throughout the world.

Since its inception, SFWA® has grown in numbers and influence until it is now widely recognized as one of the most effective non-profit writers’ organizations in existence, boasting a membership of approximately 2,000 science fiction and fantasy writers as well as artists, editors and allied professionals. Each year the organization presents the prestigious Nebula Awards® for the year’s best literary and dramatic works of speculative fiction.

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.

7 Comments on FINALISTS: 2014 Nebula Awards (with Free Fiction Links!)

  1. “The Regular” by Ken Liu is also available in the first issue of Forever Magazine, which we are giving away in ebook format here:

  2. Stopped by to let you know about some of the available stories, but you got most of them already. Neil Clarke already shared the Ken Liu, but you can get Calendrical Regression here:

    Based on history, I expect the F&SF stories will be available in a couple of weeks.

    • I don’t know if this should worry you…or me…but I thought of you when I was writing this post…doing exactly what you just did — helping to make it better – so thanks! Updated. 🙂

  3. Interesting list, as always. With no knocks at the nominees, I was sad to not see Mary Rickert’s debut novel, The Memory Garden, on this list. It is an outstanding novel.

    Not surprised to see Annihilation on the list, that was quite an opening volume to this trilogy.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: