News Ticker

Table of Contents: BEST HORROR OF THE YEAR, VOLUME SEVEN Edited by Ellen Datlow

Laird Barron has posted the table of contents for the upcoming anthology Best Horror of the Year Volume Seven edited by Ellen Datlow:

Here’s the book description:

“[Horror fiction] shows us that the control we believe we have is purely illusory, and that every moment we teeter on chaos and oblivion.” —Clive Barker

For over three decades, Ellen Datlow has been at the center of horror. Bringing you the most frightening and terrifying stories, Datlow always has her finger on the pulse of what horror readers crave. Now, with the seventh volume of this series, Datlow is back again to bring you the stories that will keep you up at night.

With each passing year, science, technology, and the march of time shine light into the craggy corners of the universe, making the fears of an earlier generation seem quaint. But this “light” creates its own shadows. The Best Horror of the Year chronicles these shifting shadows. It is a catalog of terror, fear, and unpleasantness, as articulated by today’s most challenging and exciting writers.

“As usual, Datlow delivers what she promises, ‘the best horror of the year,’ whether it’s written by the famous (Neil Gaiman) or the should-be famous (Laird Barron and many others).”
—Washington Post

Here’s the table of contents…

  1. “The Atlas of Hell” by Nathan Ballingrud
  2. “Winter Children” by Angela Slatter
  3. “A Dweller in Amenty” by Genevieve Valentine
  4. “Outside Heavenly” by Rio Youers
  5. “Shay Corsham Worsted” by Garth Nix
  6. “Allocthon” by Livia Llewellyn
  7. “Chapter Six” by Stephen Graham Jones
  8. “This is Not for You” by Gemma Files
  9. “Interstate Love Song (Murder Ballad No. 8)” by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  10. “The Culvert” by Dale Bailey
  11. “Past Reno” by Brian Evenson
  12. “The Coat Off His Back” by Keris McDonald
  13. “The Worms Crawl In” by Laird Barron
  14. “The Dog’s Home” by Alison Littlewood
  15. “Tread Upon the Brittle Shell” by Rhoads Brazos
  16. “Persistence of Vision” by Orrin Grey
  17. “It Flows From the Mouth” by Robert Shearman
  18. “Wingless Beasts” by Lucy Taylor
  19. “Departures” by Carole Johnstone
  20. “Ymir” by John Langan
  21. “Plink” by Kurt Dinan
  22. “Nigredo” by Cody Goodfellow

Book info as per Night Shade:

  • ISBN: 9781597808293
  • Forthcoming: 06/02/2015
About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: