News Ticker

Gollancz Announces New Publishing Project for Ursula K. Le Guin

Gollancz-200British publisher Gollancz has announced a huge new publishing venture with Ursula K. Le Guin!

Here’s the press release:

Gollancz reveals extensive new publishing plans for Ursula K. Le Guin.

Gollancz, an imprint of the Orion Publishing Group, is thrilled to announce a far-reaching new publishing project for Ursula K. Le Guin. Gollancz has acquired UK and Commonwealth Rights to five significant novels, two short story collections, a volume of selected non-fiction, as well as eBook rights to twelve widely-acclaimed novels including A Wizard of Earthsea and The Dispossessed amongst others.

Gollancz’s announcement coincides with the initial broadcast of a BBC Radio 4 Ursula K. Le Guin documentary (today, 11.30am, BBC Radio 4) where Naomi Alderman talks to Ursula K. Le Guin about her life and work and hears from literary fans such as David Mitchell. The documentary will be followed by two BBC Radio 4 dramatizations of Left Hand of Darkness (starts 12 April, BBC Radio 4) and Earthsea (starts 27 April, BBC Radio 4 Extra)

Deputy CEO of the Orion Publishing Group, Malcolm Edwards, bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Susan Smith of MBA acting for Ginger Clark of Curtis Brown in New York.

Gillian Redfearn, Publishing Director of Gollancz, said: ‘Ursula K. Le Guin is one of the world’s finest writers, in or out of genre, and we’re delighted to have concluded this deal to add more of her novels to our SF Masterworks list and to publish eBooks of so many of her great SF and Fantasy works. It’s particularly pleasing to welcome the Earthsea books back to Gollancz, where we first published them in hardback over four decades ago.’

The deal includes rights to publish Hugo Award-winner The Word for World is Forest and the ground-breaking Always Coming Home in paperback and eBook.

Gollancz will also publish a paperback omnibus edition of the early “Hainish” novels – Rocannon’s World, Planet of Exile, and City of Illusions – and an omnibus volume of selected non-fiction to be compiled by the author and drawn from previous ground-breaking works including The Language of the Night, The Wave in the Mind and Dancing at the End of the World.

Two important short story collections, The Wind’s Twelve Quarters and The Compass Rose, will also be published in a paperback omnibus.

The “Hainish” novels, non-fiction titles and short story collections mentioned above will also be published individually as eBooks.

Most excitingly, Gollancz will also publish eBooks of the widely acclaimed Earthsea series, comprising A Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore, Tehanu, Tales From Earthsea and The Other Wind. Other titles to be published as eBooks include A Very Long Way from Anywhere Else, The Eye of the Heron and Unlocking the Air, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (please see overleaf for a full list of titles). The eBooks will be published as part of an on-going programme over the coming years.

The books will be published as part of Gollancz’s popular SF Masterworks and Fantasy Masterworks list that aims to showcase landmark works of science fiction and fantasy from the 20th century. Current SF Masterworks By Ursula K. Le Guin – The Dispossessed and The Lathe of Heaven – will also receive eBook editions for the first time in the UK.

Ursula K. Le Guin was the winner of the 2014 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters at the National Book Awards. Her books have won many awards including the National Book Award, the Hugo and Nebula Awards and a Newbery Honour. Her recent series, the Annals of the Western Shore, has won her the PEN Center USA Children’s literature award and the Nebula Award for best novel. She has been recognised for almost fifty years as one of the most important writers in the SF field – and is likewise feted beyond the confines of the genre. Her books have attracted millions of devoted readers and won many awards. Among her novels, The Left Hand of Darkness, The Dispossessed and the six books of Earthsea have attained undisputed classic status. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

About Gollancz: Gollancz is the oldest specialist SF & Fantasy publisher in the UK. Founded in 1927 and with a continuous SF publishing programme dating back to 1961, the imprint of the Orion Publishing Group is home to a galaxy of award-winning and bestselling authors. Through our long-running SF and Fantasy Masterworks programme, and major digital initiative the SF Gateway, Gollancz has one of the largest ranges of SF and Fantasy of any publisher in the world.


  1. The Word for World is Forest * 12 March 2015 * Mass Market Paperback £8.99/eBook £4.99
  2. Always Coming Home * 8 October 2015 * Mass Market Paperback * £9.99/eBook £5.99


  1. The Wind’s Twelve Quarters and The Compass Rose * 9 July 2015 * Mass Market Paperback £9.99
  2. Worlds of Exile and Illusion * 17 September 2015 * Mass Market Paperback £9.99

SELECTED NON-FICTION * 16 June 2016 * Trade Paperback £18.99

EBOOK ONLY EDITIONS (publication dates and prices TBC)

  1. A Wizard of Earthsea
  2. The Toms of Atuan
  3. The Farthest Shore
  4. Tehanu
  5. Tales From Earthsea
  6. The Other Wind
  7. The Dispossessed
  8. The Lathe of Heaven
  9. The Language of the Night
  10. The Wave of the Mind
  11. Dancing at the End of the World
  12. The Wind’s Twelve Quarters
  13. The Compass Rose
  14. Rocannon’s World
  15. Planet of Exile
  16. City of Illusions
  17. A Very Long Way From Anywhere Else
  18. The Eye of the Heron
  19. The Beginning Place
  20. Searoad
  21. Buffalo Gals
  22. Unlocking the Air
About Kristin Centorcelli (842 Articles)
Kristin Centorcelli is the Associate Editor at SF Signal, proprietor of My Bookish Ways, a reviewer for Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly, and has also written for Crime Fiction Lover, Criminal Element, and Mystery Scene Magazine. She has been reviewing books since late 2010, in an effort to get through a rather immense personal library, while also discussing it with whoever will willingly sit still (and some that won’t).
%d bloggers like this: