News Ticker

WINNERS: 2014 Bram Stoker Awards


The winners of the 2014 Bram Stoker Award have been announced!

Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee
Superior Achievement in a Novel
  • Blood Kin by Steve Rasnic Tem (Solaris Books)
Superior Achievement in a First Novel
  • Mr. Wicker by Maria Alexander (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel
  • Phoenix Island by John Dixon (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)
Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel
  • Bad Blood by Jonathan Maberry (Dark Horse Books)
Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
  • “Fishing for Dinosaurs” by Joe R. Lansdale (Limbus, Inc., Book II, JournalStone)
Superior Achievement in Short Fiction (tie)
  • “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” by Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous, Written Backwards)
  • “Ruminations” by Rena Mason (Qualia Nous, Written Backwards)
Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
  • The Babadook by Jennifer Kent (Causeway Films)
Superior Achievement in an Anthology
  • Fearful Symmetries edited by Ellen Datlow (ChiZine Publications)
Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
  • Soft Apocalypses by Lucy A. Snyder (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
  • Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide by Lucy A. Snyder (Post Mortem Press)
Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
  • Forgiving Judas by Tom Piccirilli (Crossroad Press)
The Specialty Press Award
  • Brett Savory and Sandra Kasturi of ChiZine Publications
The Silver Hammer Award
  • Rena Mason
The President Richard Laymon Service Award
  • Doug Murano, Tom Calen, and Brock Cooper
The Mentor of the Year Award
  • Kathryn Ptacek

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the recipients of the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards® in a ceremony held in Atlanta as part of the 25th Anniversary World Horror Convention.

On the StokerCon Announcement (via The Horror Writer’s Association):
“At the start of Saturday’s ceremony, Morton announced the launch of StokerCon, an annual horror convention presented by the Horror Writers Association. The first StokerCon will be held at The Flamingo Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, NV on May 12-15, 2016. The HWA has already confirmed acclaimed author R.L. Stine as one of StokerCon 2016’s Guests of Honor.”

Congratulation to all the winners!

About Kristin Centorcelli (842 Articles)
Kristin Centorcelli is the Associate Editor at SF Signal, proprietor of My Bookish Ways, a reviewer for Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly, and has also written for Crime Fiction Lover, Criminal Element, and Mystery Scene Magazine. She has been reviewing books since late 2010, in an effort to get through a rather immense personal library, while also discussing it with whoever will willingly sit still (and some that won’t).

2 Comments on WINNERS: 2014 Bram Stoker Awards

  1. David Greybeard // May 11, 2015 at 9:15 am //

    Is this the first time SF Signal has neglected to post the contending nominees? Seems so strange and weird to just see a list of winners without those they were running against.

  2. Could be — we’re probably not terribly consistent on these things

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: