News Ticker

On My Radar: DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner/ARCADIA by Iain Pears/DARK ENERGY by Robison Wells

 

Here’s a sneak peek at three books that I’m looking forward to in the coming months!


Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner
(Margaret K. McElderry Books | April 5th, 2016)

SYNOPSIS:

Game of Thrones meets Graceling in a thrilling debut that follows the four fierce princesses of enemy kingdoms as their worlds collide in the throes of war.

Rhea, Cadis, Suki, and Iren have lived together since they were children. They are called sisters. They are not. They are called equals. They are not. They are princesses…and they are enemies.

Not long ago, a brutal war ravaged their kingdoms, and Rhea’s father was the victor. As a gesture of peace, King Declan brought the daughters of his rivals to live under his protection—and his ever-watchful eye. For ten years the girls have trained together as diplomats and warriors, raised to accept their thrones and unite their kingdoms in peace.

But there is rarely peace among sisters. Sheltered Rhea was raised to rule everyone—including her “sisters”—but she’s cracking under pressure. The charismatic Cadis is desperately trying to redeem her people from their actions during the war. Suki guards deep family secrets that isolate her, and quiet Iren’s meekness is not what it seems.

All plans for peace are shattered when the palace is attacked. As their intended futures lie in ashes, Rhea, Cadis, Suki, and Iren must decide where their loyalties lie: to their nations, or to each other.

WHY IT’S ON MY RADAR:
Princesses Power=Awesome.


Arcadia by Iain Pears
(Knopf | February 9th, 2016)

SYNOPSIS:

In 1960, Henry Lytten is an Oxford don who dabbles in espionage and fiction writing. Rosie Wilson is the quick-witted, curious fifteen-year-old girl who feeds Professor Lytten’s cat. Several hundred years in the future, living in a dystopian society on the Island of Mull, Angela Meerson is a psychomathematician who has discovered the world-changing potential of a powerful new machine. Somewhere, sometime, Jay is a scholar’s apprentice in an idyllic, pastoral land. Who these people really are, and how their stories come together, will be revealed in Iain Pears’s fascinating puzzle of a novel.

WHY IT’S ON MY RADAR:
Iain Pears writes beautiful books, so I’m really looking forward to this one!


Dark Energy by Robison Wells
(HarperTeen| March 29th, 2016)

SYNOPSIS:

We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout.

Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out.

If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.

WHY IT’S ON MY RADAR:
I love me some aliens.

About Kristin Centorcelli (842 Articles)
Kristin Centorcelli is the Associate Editor at SF Signal, proprietor of My Bookish Ways, a reviewer for Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly, and has also written for Crime Fiction Lover, Criminal Element, and Mystery Scene Magazine. She has been reviewing books since late 2010, in an effort to get through a rather immense personal library, while also discussing it with whoever will willingly sit still (and some that won’t).
%d bloggers like this: