News Ticker

Table of Contents: LEENA KROHN: COLLECTED FICTION

Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction is available now from Cheeky Frawg Books, and Jeff VanderMeer has shared the table of contents! The interior layout is by John Coulthart and the cover is by Jeremy Zerfoss. You can check out a bigger cover image and the lovely title page at the bottom of the post.

You can also find this title in the new VanderMeer Winter Mix Tape at StoryBundle!

About the book:

From cities of giant insects to a mysterious woman claiming to be the female Don Quixote, Leena Krohn’s fiction has fascinated and intrigued readers for over forty years. Within these covers you will discover a pelican that can talk and a city of gold. You will find yourself exploring a future of intelligence both artificial and biotech, along with a mysterious plant that induces strange visions. Krohn writes eloquently, passionately, about the nature of reality, the nature of Nature, and what it means to be human. One of Finland’s most iconic writers, translated into many languages, and winner of the prestigious Finlandia Prize, Krohn has had an incredibly distinguished career. Collected Fiction provides readers with a rich, thick omnibus of the best of her work—including novels, novellas, and short stories. Appreciations of Krohn’s work are also included.

For readers of Ursula K. Le Guin, Milan Kundera, Virginia Woolf, Tove Jansson, and Italo Calvino.

Here’s the table of contents:

  • Foreword by Jeff VanderMeer

Part 1: Complete Novels and Novellas

  • DOÑA QUIXOTE AND OTHER CITIZENS (1983) translated by Hildi Hawkins
  • TAINARON: MAIL FROM ANOTHER CITY (1985) – translated by Hildi Hawkins
  • GOLD OF OPHIR (1987) translated by Hildi Hawkins
  • PEREAT MUNDUS: A NOVEL OF SORTS (1998) translated by Hildi Hawkins
  • DATURA, OR A FIGMENT SEEN BY EVERYONE (2001) translated by Anna Volmari & J. Robert Tupasela
  • THE PELICAN’S NEW CLOTHES (Children’s fiction) (1976) translated by Bethany Fox

Part 2: Short Stories & Excerpts from Longer Works

  • A selection from UMBRA (1990): “The Paradox Archive” – translation by Hildi Hawkins
  • Three from MATHEMATICAL CREATURES, OR SHARED DREAMS (1992): “Gorgonoids,” translated by Hildi Hawkins; “The Lord of My Death” and “Lucilia Illustris” translated by Viivi Hyvonen
  • A selection from DREAMDEATH (2004): “To Sleep, to Die,” “Fear of the Dark” and “Fit and Unfit for Death” translated by Hildi Hawkins
  • A selection from THE BEE PAVILION (2006): “Really Existing,” “So Sorry,” and “The Three Buddhas” translated by Anselm Hollo
  • Four from FALSE WINDOW (2009): “The Divider,” “Picture Book,” “Filemon or the Wooden Man,” and “The Queen of the Night and Other Strangers” translated by Leena Likitalo
  • A selection from HOTEL SAPIENS (2012): “Me and My Shadow” translated by Hildi Hawkins
  • The short story FINAL APPEARANCE (2014) translated by Eva Buchwald
  • Appendix
  • “On Tainaron” by Matthew Cheney (essay)
  • “Change and Transformation in Tainaron” by Desirina Boskovich (essay)
  • “The Robot and the Ant: The Tales of Leena Krohn (The First Thirty Years: 1970 to 2001) (essay/appreciation) by Minna Jerrman, translated by J. Robert Tupesela (first appearance in English)
  • Afterword and poem “Would I Believe My Eyes” by Leena Krohn, translated by Hildi Hawkins and Bethany Fox
About Kristin Centorcelli (842 Articles)
Kristin Centorcelli is the Associate Editor at SF Signal, proprietor of My Bookish Ways, a reviewer for Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly, and has also written for Crime Fiction Lover, Criminal Element, and Mystery Scene Magazine. She has been reviewing books since late 2010, in an effort to get through a rather immense personal library, while also discussing it with whoever will willingly sit still (and some that won’t).

1 Comment on Table of Contents: LEENA KROHN: COLLECTED FICTION

  1. Tainaron is absolutely incredible, and I’ve really enjoyed Mathematical Creatures, Dreamdeath, and The Pelican’s New Clothes. This is the type of fiction you want to linger in.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: