News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2015 Ditmar Awards

The finalists for the 2015 Ditmar Awards, given by members of the Australian National Science Fiction Convention for professional and fan works by Australians, have been announced:

Best Novel
  • The Dagger’s Path, by Glenda Larke
  • Day Boy, by Trent Jamieson
  • Graced, by Amanda Pillar
  • Lament for the Afterlife, by Lisa L. Hannett
  • Zeroes, by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti

Best Novella or Novelette
  • “The Cherry Crow Children of Haverny Wood,” by Deborah Kalin
  • “Fake Geek Girl,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Hot Rods,” by Cat Sparks
  • “The Miseducation of Mara Lys,” by Deborah Kalin
  • “Of Sorrow and Such,” by Angela Slatter
  • “The Wages of Honey,” by Deborah Kalin
Best Short Story
  • “2B,” by Joanne Anderton
  • “The Chart of the Vagrant Mariner,” by Alan Baxter
  • “A Hedge of Yellow Roses,” by Kathleen Jennings
  • “Look how cold my hands are,” by Deborah Biancotti
Best Collected Work
  • Bloodlines, by Amanda Pillar
  • Cherry Crow Children, by Deborah Kalin, edited by Alisa Krasnostein
  • Cranky Ladies of History, by Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely
  • Letters to Tiptree, by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein
  • Peripheral Visions: The Collected Ghost Stories, by by Robert Hood
Best Artwork
  • Cover art, Rovina Cai, for “Tom, Thom”
  • Cover art, Kathleen Jennings, for Bloodlines
  • Cover and internal artwork, Kathleen Jennings, for Cranky Ladies of History
  • Cover, Shauna O’Meara, for The Never Never Land
  • Illustrations, Shaun Tan, for The Singing Bones
Best Fan Writer
  • Tsana Dolichva, for body of work, including reviews and interviews in Tsana’s Reads and Reviews
  • Foz Meadows, for body of work, including reviews in Shattersnipe: Malcontent & Rainbows
  • Ian Mond, for body of work, including The Hysterical Hamster
  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work, including reviews in Randomly Yours, Alex
  • Katharine Stubbs, for body of work, including Venture Adlaxre
  • Grant Watson, for body of work, including reviews in The Angriest
Best Fan Artist
  • Kathleen Jennings, for body of work, including Illustration Friday
  • Belinda Morris, for body of work, including Belinda Illustrates
Best Fan Publication in Any Medium
  • The Angriest, by Grant Watson
  • The Coode Street Podcast, by Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Galactic Suburbia, by Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • SF Commentary, by Bruce Gillespie
  • The Writer and the Critic, by Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
Best New Talent
  • Rivqa Rafael
  • T. R. Napper
  • DK Mok
  • Liz Barr
William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review
  • Letters to Tiptree, by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein
  • The Rereading the Empire Trilogy review series, by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • The Reviewing New Who series, by David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely
  • “Sara Kingdom Dies at the End,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts in Companion Piece
  • “SF Women of the 20th Century,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Squeeing over Supergirl, by David McDonald and Tehani Wessely

This year’s ceremony will take place at Contact the weekend of March 25-28 in Brisbane, Australia.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

About Kristin Centorcelli (842 Articles)
Kristin Centorcelli is the Associate Editor at SF Signal, proprietor of My Bookish Ways, a reviewer for Library Journal and Publisher’s Weekly, and has also written for Crime Fiction Lover, Criminal Element, and Mystery Scene Magazine. She has been reviewing books since late 2010, in an effort to get through a rather immense personal library, while also discussing it with whoever will willingly sit still (and some that won’t).

3 Comments on FINALISTS: 2015 Ditmar Awards

  1. There is just a small slip here, the awards will be presented at the 2016 Australian National SF Convention, Contact, taking place between March 25-28 in Brisbane.

  2. No problem! I’m glad I could help. 🙂

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: