News Ticker

FINALISTS: 2016 Spectrum Fantastic Art Award

The finalists for the prestigous 2016 Spectrum Awards have been announced!

The jury for Spectrum 23: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art has nominated the top five artworks in eight categories for consideration for either a silver and gold award. Judges David Palumbo, Cynthia Sheppard, Kirk Thatcher, Charlie Wen and Terryl Whitlatch debated the merits of hundreds of pieces of art before finalizing this list on Saturday, February 27, 2016 at the Flesk Publications offices in Santa Cruz, California.

(Note: Images of the nominated art can be found at the Flesk and Spectrum Fantastic Art blog.)

  • “The Blessing of Athena” by Nico Delort
  • “Discworld” by Bartosz Kosowski
  • “Vishnu’s Third Avatar” by Colin Poole
  • “Glitch” by Andrew Thompson
  • “24 Hour Movie Marathon” by Joseph Qiu
  • “Munchasaurus Rex” by Chris Ayers
  • “Tom, Thom” by Rovina Cai
  • “Renard and the Strawberries” by Annie Stegg Gerard
  • “Vesurius” by Donato Giancola
  • “Sorcerer of the Wildeeps” by Karla Ortiz
  • Tribes of Kai, page 41, Daren Bader
  • Island #4 cover, Gael Bertrand
  • Harrow County #1 cover, Tyler Crook
  • Drifter, Nic Klein
  • Hellboy 1953, Paolo Rivera
Concept Art

“The Mushroom Forest” by Mirko Failoni

  • “Journey to West” by Te Hu
  • “King Louie’s Court” by Vance Kovacs
  • “Window View” by Seth Rutledge
  • “Dragon Island” by Dejian Wu
  • “Death Wings” by Akihito
  • “Adelpha and Her Sister” by Thomas Kuebler
  • “The Blind Death” by Patrick Masson
  • “The Morrigan” by Forest Rogers
  • “Meeting Master Jones” by Dug Stanat
  • “Empathy” by Donato Giancola
  • “Traveling To a Distant Day” by Tran Nguyen
  • “Finnegan’s Field” by Greg Ruth
  • “Family Portraithausen: A Tribute to Ray Harryhausen” by Chris Seaman
  • “The Language of Knives” by Sam Weber
  • “Behind the Veil” by Julie Bell
  • “Natural Connection” by Wesley Burt
  • “Medieval Batman” by Bill Carman
  • “Offering” by Te Hu
  • “Exalted Angel” by Tyler Jacobson
  • “Pull” by Dragan Bibin
  • “Dust Devil” by Wayne Haag
  • “King Under the Mountain” by Jaemin Kim
  • “Initiate” by Greg Opalinski
  • “Bioluminescence” by Rob Rey

The recipients will be announced at the Spectrum 23 Awards Ceremony that will be held at the Society of Illustrators in New York City on Saturday, May 7. The 2016 Spectrum Grand Master Award honoree will also be announced during the ceremony.

Congratulations to all the finalists!

About John DeNardo (13012 Articles)
John DeNardo is the Managing Editor at SF Signal and a columnist at Kirkus Reviews. He also likes bagels. So there.
%d bloggers like this: